We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Rainier National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Location Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Only 90 miles from the airport, but it seemed longer as we appeared to drive right around the mountain before ascending it! What a superb location under a magnificent mountain. The "park lodge" type room was more than adequate complete with a great view (several deer appeared under the window one day). The food and drink were first class and so was the service. Of course the mountain walks were something else with outstanding views at every turn and we were apparently lucky with the weather - clear skies every day. Fellow visitors were most friendly and we met up with two of them later on during our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. The weather in September was amazing and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Mount Rainier is a very special place and we hope you have the opportunity to return for another visit. Again, thank you very much for your review

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    332
    161
    77
    32
See reviews for
236
399
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really pretty traditional inn in the middle of the National Park. We stayed in the old part of the lodge, without an ensuite bathroom, but the shared showers and toilets were really clean and not too busy, so don’t let that put you off. Only downside was the food options, especially in the evening. As far as we could work out, it was either the café serving very much ‘café’ food or, the main dining room. We had a proper dinner in the dining room, which was not fantastic food at quite high prices. Also, the ambience in the lounge was much more pleasant than in the dining room. It would be nice to have something in between. All the staff were lovely though and the buffet breakfast in the dining room was really very nice.

A major plus point of staying here is spending time in the area in peace and quiet in the evening and early in the morning when the crowds have gone/are yet to arrive, as it is pretty busy in the middle of the day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Paradise inn was a perfect place to base and enjoy the park, staff were friendly and knowledgable. The inn is Beautiful! It was clean comfortable lots of public areas great views!! Hiking right out side the front entrance fantastic wild flowers, deer, a bear, marmots. Food was average but not outragously priced like some parks.

Room Tip: rooms in the old section with a shared bath a GREAT value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matheu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Paradise Inn is expensive for what it is - except for the fact that it is truly in Paradise! We went in August when the wildflowers were in bloom and Rainier was in all its glory. We stayed in a queen room with private bath, in the lodge annex. The room itself is nothing special. The heater control is not very precise so its a little tricky to get it set so the room isn't too hot or cold at night. There is no A/C and we weren't able to open one of the windows. The bathroom is somewhat dated. There is no ice machine for guests. You can take a bag or container to the cafe and ask for ice and they will give you two scoops (no more). There is no way to buy a bag of ice in Paradise or anywhere close. Spouse and I both went for ice so we could get enough for our little cooler, which we used for our breakfast and lunch food. The main entrance is on one of the upper levels, and we were on the lowest level found a back door from our level that made it easier to get to/from the parking lot and made it easier to get the luggage in and out of the room. I don't believe there is an elevator. The walls are thin - bring earplugs! The bed was comfortable enough. The staff were friendly.

We at two dinners in the on-site restaurant. Some of the food was good and some not so good. It is very pricey, and of course with sit down service, it takes a while to have a meal. We brought our own breakfast and lunch food and were very happy to be able to get an early start in the morning and pack a lunch to have on the trails. We didn't eat any of the cafe food, and while it looked good, it was very expensive as well. We brought an immersion heater and made hot tea, I don't think there was a coffee maker in the room, but we don't drink coffee so it didn't matter to us.

You can't beat the location of this hotel, but it is helpful to be aware of the limitations of the location. I'd suggest bringing some of your own food so you can spend more time on the trails and less in the restaurants, and save some money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reviewer093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed one night in the National Park Inn and the next night in Paradise Inn so here’s a comparison. First, the forest fires cast smoke over the entire mountain so it wasn’t all we had hoped for – but still, it is one absolutely impressive mountain. The National Park Inn is small, quaint, homey, very friendly but the rooms are clean, adequate, perhaps even spacious, with adequate toilets and heat that works well. The Paradise Inn is very large, not quaint but an impressive large lobby with piano player and circulating cocktail server, not homey but impressive, friendly staff and similar rooms … clean, adequate, and again with heat that works. Dinner in both lodges was very pleasant; we ate breakfast only at the National Park Inn and passed on Paradise (as I remember, the breakfast prices at Paradise seemed to be some $ more than the NPI; the room rate was $4 more at Paradise). We didn't eat at the deli/cafeteria at Paradise; the prices were just too over the top for us. The biggest difference is the quantity of other guests….Paradise has something of a crowded feel with so many guests; NPI is … “homey.” It’s not too long of a drive from NPI to Paradise, a leisurely hour … and you’ll want to go, anyway, because the best view/hiking is from Paradise (although NPI has a wonderful short easy trail through the woods). Are we glad we spent the second night at Paradise? Absolutely yes; the next morning there was a full rainbow in the morning mist! If we go back for multiple nights we’ll stay at NPI – but Paradise has a lot to say for it, also. Enjoy both!

Room Tip: I doubt there are any "view of the mountain" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have stayed in a number of National Park lodges, so even after reading critical TripAdvisor reviews I thought I had the proper expectations. Unfortunately, this ended up being the worst lodge I have stayed in by far.

The only positive is the location and proximity to trails. While I understand that it's a historic building, there's really no excuse for the poor condition of the rooms. Our initial room was located on the second floor of the annex. The carpet had not been vacuumed, the ceilings were water-damaged and there were brown smeared stains on the bathroom floor tile. The only toiletries provided were shampoo and a bar of soap, and the sink was extremely inconvenient with completely separate handles/faucets for hot and cold. As others have mentioned, the walls are very thin - which may not be an issue if you have quiet respectful neighbors. We did not - we were subjected to numerous arguments and the ensuing make-up throughout the evening. Luckily, the inn was not booked full, so we were able to move to a different room with two singles on the first floor. This room was quiet and cleaner, but still in need of updates. There were water stains on the ceiling tiles and an actual hole around the sprinkler. At least the beds were comfortable.

The main lodge area itself is charming. Dining is overpriced and mediocre at best. Overall, just a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeavesTooOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in this Inn for 3 nights in September.

Room: We stayed in a room with one Queen bed and a bath. As mentioned by others here, the room was a bare minimum. It was quite small and if you've lot of stuff, you may find it difficult walking around. Like the room, all the furniture had a rustic look. The room was clean, nothing to complain there.
The walls, however, were so thin that we could clearly hear every conversation from the neighboring room. If you value your privacy, keep your voice down. Any activity between the sheets is also likely to be noticed by the neighbors which is what we noticed when our neighbors...ahm...got noisy.

Service: They have a lounge, a dining room and a cafeteria. Since everything else is 30 minutes drive away, they charge you exorbitantly for everything. The dining options were limited, service was slow and price was $$$. There was always a line in the cafeteria where staff were slow and items were way over priced.
As an exception, the lounge was actually pretty nice with it's ornate ceilings, wood cut-out furniture and fireplace. If you have time to hang out here with a glass of wine, you may find it very nice. I did.
Trivia: The lounge also hosts a piano which, they say, was played by an US President during his visit to the park. There's also a chair, more like a throne, that weighs 1,500 lbs!

Location: This is the best part of the Inn. It is conveniently and centrally located to all the Paradise area attractions. The Stevens Canyon road was closed so we could not drive Eastwards but if it's open, you can pretty much cover the Northern part of the park by locating yourself here. In the evening, you can sit in the patio and sip on a warm cup of coffee while enjoying the view of the Mt. Rainier or the Tatoosh Range.

All in all, stay here if you don't want to spend your time driving on the winding roads. Just don't expect a HIlton suite and don't expect fair value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Abhi0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Rainier National Park
11.1 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
9.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
14.3 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
13.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

Property: Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Address: Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Rainier National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1916 and designated as one of the "Great Lodges of the West" this historic guest lodge sits in the shadow of Mount Rainier surrounded by mountain meadows lush with wildflowers. Miles of hiking trails just outside the front door lead to adventures in all directions and offer panoramic views of glaciers and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Paradise Inn Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing