We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loop D”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzanita Lake Campground
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We camped here over the 4th of July weekend. We had backup reservations at North Summit lake but happily took one of the 12 open and non-reservable spots at Manzanita lake in Loop D, which is for tents only. The weekend was crowded with rowdy college age groups but they all cleared out Sunday morning so the rest of our five night stay was quiet. The spaces vary, some are large and fairly private, others are squished tightly next to another space. We thought D-12,D-14, D-18, D-30 looked to be the most spacious, private and shady. Also C-20, C-22, C-26 were good but in the mixed RV and tent loop. We didn't like any of the spots in Loop A or B. We noticed that the mixed RV loops were noisier and the groups larger. We wanted to be at this campsite because of the proximity to the showers and the store. The showers cost $1.50 in quarters for 3 minutes. Each 30 seconds after that is a quarter. There are four single stalls and one handicap stall. We showered in the late afternoon after hiking, and only once was there someone else in there besides myself. They are busy early morning and at night. The store is tiny. They have eggs, milk, canned good, beer/wine, hot dogs, bacon, and fresh pasta. Also some sad looking veggies/fruit and a few toiletries. No steaks, chicken, etc. There is a large supermarket/hardware store located 17 ,miles away in Shingletown right at the 76 gas station. They seem to be the best stocked. The wood costs $10 per bundle and ice $3.50 per bag. Also the gas at the store was competitively priced, which surprised us. You don't really need to buy wood this year if you bring a small saw. The trees all along the mountainside where the camping spots back up against have been thinned and they left the thin logs in hug piles to be used by campers. Some people were killing themselves with axes, but we found a folding saw was quick and very easy. One thing we would consider next trip is staying either at Summit Lake or the Southwest walk-in campground. They are both much closer to basically all the hiking to be done in the park. Summit Lake was very sunny and Southwest almost total shade. We found that by staying at Manzanita Lake we had to drive about 45 every morning just to get to the trail heads. We would then try and take towel baths to avoid having to drive so far to shower. All in all a great experience and we can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
17  Thank shannonjorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Manzanita Lake Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in Loop A15 in a small RV and in June but the park was not as busy as we had expected despite the holidays having already started. The sites had plenty of space between them but they were very open so you were like a viewing gallery to all you neighbours and they seem to have taken out a lot of trees and changed layouts with the new cabins in place. We had different neighbours on a number of nights and how peaceful it is will depend on who you have next to you. We were lucky that the 3 sites having the 'Hawaiin party' nearby were very respectful of others around them but there didn't seem to be any sign of a camp host if things had been noisy. The lake itself is lovely though and if you want more quiet time then a small hike to the other side of the lake will find you virtually on your own. If you don't like it busy then also avoid the weekend hike to Bumpass Hell which gets quite crowded and noisy if you don't get there early in the day even in June.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The main problem with National Parks is that they are very crowded in summer. We visited Manzanita Lake Campground at the end of September. It was pretty empty as the temperatures dropped precipitously at this time of the year. We spent the afternoon hiking around the lake, listening to Geese and watching their flight patterns.
I must say that at night, in spite of being not busy, it was very noisy from one specific area, as people were screaming and laughing loudly until very late. The rangers (if there were any) were not to be seen. But, the area is so beautiful (that is why you visit) that you can't be bothered by little things.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank cachirulatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's great that there are a lot of spaces set aside for those who haven't made reservations ahead of time...like us. The sites are clean and most are spacious. You don't feel like you are camping right on top of the next person. That said, by mid afternoon the campground was full so it did feel a little hectic. We will go back, but not at such a busy time of year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susanlvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am amazed that anyone was able to have a relaxing time at this campground. I don't think that would be possible at the time of year that we visited (July). We had made reservations as part of a larger National Parks trip we were on and so we were kind of stuck staying here even after driving in and hearing how loud it was. There were some campsites that were well over the maximum capacity for vehicles/tents, and no one seemed to enforce this. There were large groups of people in adjoining campsites who were playing music, letting their kids run around screaming, drinking, talking loudly, letting their dogs bark. We prefer quiet, peaceful settings when we camp and we normally get it in the National Parks. I do not recommend this campground for those who want a quiet place to relax and sleep. There were many other campgrounds in the park, including some we had not considered because they are not reservable. However even in July there were plenty of sites available so I would recommend NOT reserving when you go this park and check out a campground in person before you commit to it. I'm sure the other campgrounds were more quiet, and you could still drive to Manzanita Lake to use the showers and camp store.

14  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've stayed twice at the Manzanita Lake Campground on Loop C in our travel trailer. The sites are nice and the facilities are very clean. Bathrooms are excellent, flush toilets, and have soap! The camp store, showers, and laundry facilities are excellent as well. This is a great campground for families. Lots of kids running around AND no tweakers partying into the wee hours of the morning. Great lake for kayaking! It gets busy, so book early if you don't like the crowds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Apewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for one night at the beginning of June. The campground itself is nice, tall trees, nice sites, clean bathrooms. There is also paid shower and laundry, store and even a gas station (prices better than in Old Station). But although the campground was not full, it was very noisy until almost midnight, there was some California University team. The kids were shouting all around, I was wondering, why their supervisors let them to do such a mess!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Blodenwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassen Volcanic National Park
0.0 mi away
Best Western Rose Quartz Inn
0.0 mi away
Hounds Tooth Inn
Hounds Tooth Inn
#7 of 10 in Oakhurst
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlands Ranch Resort
Highlands Ranch Resort
#1 of 1 in Mill Creek
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tahoe Valley Campground
Tahoe Valley Campground
#1 of 18 in South Lake Tahoe
537 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Manzanita Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanita Lake Campground

Address: Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Lassen Volcanic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This facility is open for camping with full services from June 1 through September 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzanita Lake Campground Hotel Lassen Volcanic National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing