We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Forks Campground--Bass Lake”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzanita Lake Campground
Santa Monica, Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Forks Campground--Bass Lake”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed there in April 2012. Very nice campground. Restroom are very clean and the staff in very helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This campground is a little dusty and cramped, with minimal facilities. Our site did not have a flat spot to sleep on. When we arrived, we occupied what we thought was an open site but it just turned out to be a site that the campground management had not posted a "reserved" sign on. The occupants showed up later with an online reservation confirmation, which they displayed on their smart phone, and we had to move -- a major pain in the [---]. The campers next to us coughed and talked very loudly throughout the night; finally at 4 am I walked over to their tent and asked them to speak more quietly. I've camped about 10 times a year in California for 25 years and this campsite is a little below average, somewhat diminishing the value of its location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexnevcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just concluded a 3 night stay in two campsites - Loop D #27 and 28. Family group of 10. We had a nice time but the campground is pretty dusty and the bathrooms were overused. Why? Because they allowed more than the limited size of two tents per campsite. The people behind us arrived at midnite with 4 tents - spent 4 hours setting up, noisy banging around and Park Ranger said later - they don't like to "confront."
Other big issue was the large amount of small stumps throughout the campsites - stumps sticking up 3 " that you can't see in the dark and trip over - a lawsuit waiting to happen. Campsites also very close together. They could do a little better....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2acertrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We wanted to stay in a place that was quiet and in the park. After looking at all the lodging options available, we chose Manzanita Lake Cabins. Definitely happy with that choice. Everything was nice and clean. The cabin host was very knowledgeable. He gave us great tips for hiking trails. Make sure you take the time to stroll around the lake and star gaze. I would absolutely come back here again. The sights are comparable to Yosemite without the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MC95757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Don't know how you could fault the place, other than that it was a bit smokey (what campground isn't?). Has showers (a bit dated but they work great), nice store, flush toilets, running water, and is next to a pristine alpine lake. Perfect place to stay to explore the park, either in a tent or in RV. Very quiet at night, amazing stargazing as well!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BigSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I love Lassen National Park. It is never crowded. The rangers and park employees are
friendly and knowledgeable. Manzanita Lake is a true find for fishing folks as it is full of wild, large, "educated" fish. There is lots of wildlife. We are all lucky to have National Parks and this one is a subtle gem.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Flower2mcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We reserved a spot in the A loop, but it was not a nice spot, small and zero privacy. So, we switched to the D loop (tents only), which is first come, first serve. We stayed at site D13 - the sites over there were more spacious and private. The bathrooms were very clean! I saw staff cleaning them at least twice a day! At the camper store, there were showers and laundry, both were adequate. The kids liked the soft serve ice cream at the store. There was just about anything you'd need at the store. The lake was gorgeous, we brought our kayaks and the view of Lassen Peak from the lake was fabulous. Next time, we will go straight to the D loop to look for a site as I didn't see any in any of the other loops that we liked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mrsalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manzanita Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanita Lake Campground

Property: Manzanita Lake Campground
Address: Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Lassen Volcanic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This facility is open for camping with full services from June 1 through September 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzanita Lake Campground Hotel Lassen Volcanic National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing