We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Requires a Long Moderate Hike Oct '18

The short hike to Bumpass Hell is closed right now - Oct/Nov '18. You can still get there via the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gafilpoo
,
Bluffton, Ohio
Highly recommend

Bumpass Hell is one of my favorite spots in Lassen National Park, and in all of Northern... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Hannah C
via mobile
Read all 287 reviews
  
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
174
73
9
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
73
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud pots parking lot thermal area hot springs quarter mile steam vents trail leading miles round trip wear a hat all ages nice hike moderate hike rotten egg smell take your time amazing sight lassen park beautiful vistas
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The short hike to Bumpass Hell is closed right now - Oct/Nov '18. You can still get there via the long hike with great views from the King's Creek Campground. Still worth it.

Thank Gafilpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bumpass Hell is one of my favorite spots in Lassen National Park, and in all of Northern California. I live in the area and any time someone visits me, I try to take them here. Unfortunately it is often closed until late in the summer due to snow, and this year it was undergoing construction, but it is usually open at least July/August.

The hike to Bumpass Hell is relatively easy from what I remember but make sure to take sunscreen (very sunny and the surface is very reflective). Stunning views on the trail to Bumpass Hell. There is a boardwalk all through Bumpass Hell with information signs. It stinks of sulfur but it is very cool and I would absolutely recommend this as a must for those visiting the area.

Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is not closed only the one entrance, the other people are wrong. You will have to hike a lovely UPHILL 2.5 mile hike from Kings Creek trail head (total round trip 5 miles) We had a blasted today. Plan to hike for 2-3 hours depending on your ability. Not a handicap accessible trail. You get to see the cold water lake (bubbling water, not that great but pretty). Yes saw all ages hiking this including kids.
Take water, snacks, camera, hiking shoes are nice, but not required, hiking poles if needed, & a can do attitude. This is one of the must do places to go. If you do any trail do this one, because the views along the way is amazing.

1  Thank CavemanHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an amazing place to visit. We went there in August, the height of summer. Because Lassen Park is so high, we noted the beginnings and then the coverage of snow. Bumpass Hell is a volcanic park with hot springs but even in summer you have to trek across snow to get to it. How weird? And the snow is yellow (beicae of the sulphur). Really well worth a visit.

1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

It was not open when we were there and wish it was. Still a very beautiful national park, but not sure if I will ever get to see it.

Thank Tyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We were bummed because we booked our trip in January but the trail was closed in the spring. It will be closed for the rest of 2018 but the rest of the park is amazing.

1  Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Bumpass Hell is closed to the public for the 2018 and 2019 seasons. They are reconstructing the raised boardwalk for safety reasons. Although there is no real replacement for Bumpass, check the Lassen website for some alternatives.

Thank Ginny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

This was the main activity we undertook in the Lassen Volcanic Park. We parked the car and then took the trail along the side of the valleyside,over the rocks and then down into the hot boiling mud and gas bowl.

It really is an amazing sight. Well worth the hike.

BEWARE of the time though. The hike is not suitable for small children, strollers, people with mobility issues, it is quite rocky. And it is much longer than the signs suggests.

It took us an hour to hike from the carpark to Bumpass Hell. And another hour back again. So probably 2.5-3 hours in total.

On the way back we passed people who were clearly not going to make it back in the remaining daylight.

2  Thank marlarkey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018

It was a very nice walk but a little bit long from the upper parking lot. If you can park in the parking lot at the lake, you can spare one quarter of the walk. If you are coming from the upper parking lot, you need to walk downwards/upwards quite a bit. The walk really worth it as the outcome is very spectacular. You can make very nice picture from the whole place, when you arrive. We enjoyed our time, but take a good shoes!

3  Thank bambooo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

The hike to bumpass hell is nice but not recommended for strolleys and elderly since it can be a little steep at some places. The location itself is nice but somehow disappointing since quite small. This is even more true if you have already seen something similar in other parks/locations around the world (e.g. Yellowstone)

2  Thank 01649409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews