We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-visit place in the north state”
Review of Bumpass Hell

Bumpass Hell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1.3-mile walk from the main road will bring you to this geothermal area with boiling mud and hissing blowholes.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must-visit place in the north state”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a place I remember from trips with my parents 40 years ago. It doesn't fail to delight now. I took friends with 12 year old kids, and they were thrilled by the sulfur works (complete with rotten egg smell-part of a hydrothermic area experience) and the fairly easy hike.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardcorefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    76
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unique site”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Bumpass is a short hike from the road. It contains a variety of hot springs and boiling mud pools. It is relatively close to Interstate 5, so is worth the drive if you are in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Discusdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stinky, but amazing . . .”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A fairly easy hike, although there are definitely some hills to climb up (and slide back down). Bumpass Hell is super stinky, but a great science lesson!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosterzele
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“the other way : from kings creek to bumpass hell - remember 23 july 2012”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ( with Jonas) started NOT at the Bumpass Hell parking, but we mad the choice for the more difficult way with an elevation (up) of 330 meters. My wife and daughter would start the easy way from Bumpass Hell parking lot but...
After only 10 minutes in the wood and nearly arrived at cold boiling lake a few rather small but heavy thunderstorms appeared on both sides of the walk. Hesitating to continue, we saw a gap between the two storms ans decided to go on, despite the heavy lightning.
This was the beginning of the Reading fire who destroyed 28000 acres in Lassen Volcanic NP and Lassen Nat Forest. The parkway between Summit lake and the North end of the park (Manzanita area) was closed from begin august for several weeks until 27 august.
But back to our walk...after the first moderate elevation part - with plenty of musquito's - we had a very good look at de Crumbaugh lake and the south section of the park.
Some walkers coming from Bumpass Hell congratulated us with our choice because the best part (BH) was at the end of our walk.
After another steeper ut short elevation we arrived at the high opposit side of the beautifull Bumpass Hell. It doesn't take two hours to do all the boardwalks and to take plenty of pictures of this splendid fumeroles area. (Yellowstone level !!!!).
We met my wife and daughter in this area, who decided to give up the walk to Kings Creek because of the heavy lightning, witch stopped after half an hour.
The last part of the walk descends to the parking lot.
We took a few pictures of Lake Helen before returning to the south section and visite sulphur works.
The end of a wonderfull afternoon.

Level : moderate but for every body in normal shape.
Duration : 3 hours included the visite of the best part of the park - Bulmpass Hell - normaly open begin july.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank idesbald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Little Yellowstone”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The ranger in the visitor center said that the Bumpass Hell has the highest concentration of hydro-thermal features anywhere outside Yellowstone NP. That's absolutely true. From the parking lot, you got to walk about a mile, which is moderate, but during the first half of the return you gain quiet a bit of elevation in very short distance, and that feels strenuous, so you should slow down depending on your fitness level and you must carry water and a good shoe. The place is quiet marvelous, the hydro-thermal features and the colors are awesome, they just remind me about Yellowstone. If you have never been to Yellowstone, you would be amazed to see these stuff, otherwise also it's quiet spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AshimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumpass Hell also viewed

Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
 
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
 

Been to Bumpass Hell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing