We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redoubt Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My niece and I were at RML the end of July and the total experience was absolutely fabulous. All the staff, guides, Heather &Ryan were outstanding. Our guide, Danny, helped me in & out of the boat and lawn chairs to sit on. This made all the difference since I am 70 and have health problems. The location is the most beautiful I've ever seen. We saw 8 bears, two moms with a cub each. There was "sleepy" who took a nap on the edge of the river and the "snorkler" who was eating left overs from fishermen. Seeing bears in their natural habitat, being so close was exhilarating. I've been to Alaska 3 times, this the most memorable. Thank you Heather &Ryan, you made an old lady very happy! Nancy H

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Please make this stop your last in Alaska because everything else will pale in comparison. Your every need is completely taken care of. You have a guide that is with you for 8hrs a day for fishing, hiking, hiking, bear viewing and makes sure you are having a great time. Heather cooks gourmet meals and Danell & Amanda wait on you hand and foot. Put this on your bucket list, you wont be sorry!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I have been fortunate to wander from pole to pole, and places in between, in search of the road less-traveled. The overall experience at Redoubt Mountain Lodge is equal to the best we've ever had. Wildlife and photography are our passions, and even though we were about 3 weeks too early for the prime bear invasion, we count our 3 days at the lodge as a total success. Heather and Ryan are the perfect hosts; the food was amazing; the guides are experienced, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable; the scenery is incredible; and the ambience of the lodge itself is warm and peaceful. With only 12 guests, it's easy to share the events of the day with like-minded folks over wine and dinner. The entire staff goes out of their way to ensure your stay is whatever you'd like it to be.

As for wildlife, even though we missed prime bear season, we did see 5 brown bears foraging and fishing, including a sweet cub, 2 black bears, nesting bald eagles, and lots of salmon heading for their spawining channels. Between us, we also went on 3 great hikes.

Redoubt Lodge was so good that I'm hoping to head back, possibly even this September, to photograph bears..

Thanks to everyone at Redoubt Lodge for making our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: We were lucky to have the one cabin isolated near the water. However, with only 6 cabins, any one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonO_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just back from Alaska and were spoiled by our time at Redoubt Mountain Lodge. The other reviews are spot on about the quality of the staff and variety of activities. My wife wanted to go hiking and bear viewing.... I wanted a sampling of different fishing techniques. Not a problem. We did 4 nice hikes, saw 5 bears and did some wading and trolling. The guides and staff are passionate about giving you a great experience. It's a beautiful place that makes a great trip for hard core fishing or just a great family vacation. To get the most out of your trip, talk to the lodge manager (Ryan) about what you are looking for so you come at the right time (fish runs and wildlife have distinct seasons) and get paired up with a guide with expertise in your activity. Bring more warm layers than you think you'll need and a bottle of your favorite adult beverage!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Forget the cruises and treat yourself to a true Alaskan adventure. Redoubt Mountain Lodge (RML) is a five star experience. Catching a float plane to access the facility, flying over the mountains, landing on a glacier fed lake and arriving at the most majestic resort was the highlight of our Alaskan adventure. Ryan and Heather have a fantastic staff that cater to your every desire. Individual guides are assigned to make sure you get the ultimate Alaskan experience. You can fish, bear watch, kayak, hike, and/or just relax and take in this very remote and beautiful part of Alaska. Schedule RML at the end of your vacation so you can take back the fish you caught rather than having to ship it home. Heather prepares gourmet meals that are out of this world. We cannot wait to return and bring our grown children and grandkids.

Room Tip: You sleep in cabins and every one is in a good location on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovingRetirement67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you're looking for beautiful scenery, hospitality at its finest, great food (thank you Heather) guides that are knowledgeable, patient, fun and are great fisherman Redoubt Mountain Lodge is for you. It is in a beautiful location at the base of the mountains on beautiful Crescent Lake in the middle of Lake Clark National Park.
From the time you make reservations, talking with Ryan, to flying in with Trail Ridge Air and your first view of Crescent lake from the air you are fascinated with the mountain views no matter which direction you look.
Host Heather and Ryan and all the lodge staff and guides are there to meet you at the plane.and make certain you have a great time and your needs are met from then on. Heather has a hot breakfast waiting for you, Ryan fills in the safety details and introduces you to your guide for your stay. Your guide lets you plan what you want to do for the day, but fishing was great catching both lake trout up to 26 inches and dolly varden from the river. (Salmon weren't up yet). We can't say enough good things about the lodge and its staff.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank 929LindaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This is the Alaska fantasy come true! Spectacular mountains descending into green meadows tumbling into a glacial lake. Fabulous food, gracious hospitality and expert guides. Spend days relaxing in the lodge or fishing, fishing, fishing. Pretty hikes! With just 12 guests at a time and no other lodging within 25 miles, the experience is truly intimate. It is what I always dreamed Alaska would be like. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chele32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redoubt Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redoubt Mountain Lodge

Address: Lake Clark National Park and Preserve, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Redoubt Mountain Lodge Alaska/Lake Clark National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing