We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, great location, service, fishing and wildlife at one place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redoubt Mountain Lodge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding, great location, service, fishing and wildlife at one place”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The location is superb and Ryan and Heather make you feel welcome from the time you arrive.

The fishing and wildlife viewing was superb and our guide Adam was very knowledeable and patient. We caught heaps of salmon, dolly varden and lake trout on spinning and fly tackle. As a bonus we saw black bears, a swimming and diving grizzly bear and beavers. Our 11 year old daughter caught fish, hiked and learn't about the let kermode bears.

Over the 5 days we stayed we were privileged to experience Heather's great cooking and Danielle's attentive service.

A memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We're in our mid-60s and thia was our first trip to Alaska. Simply put, I can't say enough good things about the Lodge, the setting and the staff. The rooms are clean, but a bit Spartan. But, you don't come to a place like this to stay in your room and watch TV. The Lodge is located very near Redoubt Mtn. on a beautiful lake.
We didn't realize that the main activity is fishing. Had I known , I might not have booked here...what a mistake that would have been! Our host, Ryan, gently urged us to try the fishing. Thank you Ryan for your urging...we had a blast!
There are other activities such as kayaking, hiking, etc., but the real draw is the fishing. The guides (especially Adam) were very friendly and helpful. No one laughed when they saw how inexperienced we are at fishing.
As for wildlife, we saw eagles, osprey, moose and grizzlies...lots of grizzlies. But, the guides were very conscientious about about our safety. In several cases, we got pretty close to the bears
The managers, Ryan and Heather go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The meals that Heather served were an absolute delight.
Oh, how I want to get back to this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Redoubt Mountain Lodge is an awesome place!!! Ryan and Heather are gracious hosts who ensure your visit to Redoubt is memorable. The food is fantastic and plentiful.
We met Eric an experienced fisherman who visits twice a year. We were “rookies” but we caught our limit thanks to Ryan. The scenery and bear-watching is amazing and the overall experience is unforgettable. We’ve travelled the world and rank RDL as a “must see”!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelprincess40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our family of six visited Redoubt Mountain Lodge for a three-night stay in early July. Everyone agreed that it was the highlight of our two-week vacation in Alaska. The location is breathtaking, and we had a constant sense of awe that we were enjoying such amazing hospitality in a location that is so remote and inaccessible by any form of transportation other than float plane.

We spent every day on the river or the lake, catching fish with our highly skilled and agreeable guides; and by the end of our visit we had almost 60 pounds of red salmon fillets to ship back home. For a family of avid fishermen (our kids range in age from 9 to 17) it was the trip of a lifetime.

The lodge food was wonderful and healthy (again, we marveled at the skill Heather must exercise to keep those meals coming three times a day with no access to grocery stores!) I practically swooned from the hospitality -- a hot breakfast when our floatplane landed; glasses of wine that appeared while I lounged around with a book at the lodge; hilarious tubing adventures for the kids in the late evening hours; and s'mores around the campfire at night.

We had imagined we might do some hiking when we were planning our visit, but opted out when the weather was unusually hot and the trails were muddy from snowmelt. Also, we were intimidated by the possibility of encountering bears in such a remote location.

Speaking of bears -- the property is surrounded by a high-voltage fence to discourage unwelcome visitors onto the lodge property. We observed that the lodge staff are never far from a rifle loaded with rubber bullets as a precautionary measure. We saw a couple of bears while we were fishing; and even saw a territorial brown bear chasing a terrified moose along the riverbank. It was quite a show.

The cabins are rustic, but charming and comfortable. The hot water is a bit temperamental, but we always managed to get a hot shower eventually. I would have enjoyed having some shelves and hanging space, but we made do with the few drawers our cabin had.

We did not have a problem with mosquitoes, but the unusual warm weather brought out the black flies in droves. Those flies seem to be impervious to insect repellent -- if we'd anticipated that problem, we would have brought head nets with us to use while we were fishing the riverbanks.

We found the lodge through the assistance of an Anchorage-based trip planning consultant named Matt Lowe, who also happened to be guiding this summer at Redoubt. Matt is a fantastic resource for travel information in Alaska, and he helped us build the remainder of our visit to the state as well. (Matt is available through [--], in case you're looking for some good trip-planning advice.)

Our kids are already begging us to make a return trip. It may be hard to avoid!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

we stayed at redoubt mountain lodge for four nights at the end of june and had the best time. our visit exceeded our expectations.

ryan and heather, the lodge managers, are gracious hosts. the rest of the staff are also very friendly and accommodating. delilah is a certified masseuse, in addition to her duties as housekeeper and server. she is phenomenal! guests are assigned a personal guide for the duration of their stay. we were with andrew. he was great - a fine fisherman, knowledgeable outdoorsman, and interested in providing the best experience you could hope for. we also met dan and matt. very nice guys.

rml is only accessible by floatplane, the cost of the flight is included in your lodge bill. rml arranges the charter so you just have to show up at trail ridge air at the appointed time. each passenger can bring 40 pounds of gear. they weigh your bag so don't pack too much! the flight is about 60-70 minutes and is beautiful. you land on crescent lake and pull right up the the shore at the lodge. this place is isolated, very remote - there is nothing else in the vicinity.

rml has only 6 guest cabins, a central lodge with the kitchen, dining room and living room with satellite tv. there is also a "gift shop" with special redoubt mountain lodge gear, a computer with internet access, a hot tub, and a massage room.

everyone welcomes you on the shore of crescent lake as you arrive. you'll be shown the main lodge and then taken to your cabin. our cabin had a queen bed and a twin, a desk, a shower, a sink and a toilet behind a cloth curtain. lots of pegs for clothes - but no dresser or drawers. the cabin is heated by propane.

meals are served at set times and the food is prepared by heather. she is a terrific cook and able to meet special dietary requests with advance notice (since everything is flown in and trash is flown out, you can't just run out to the store to get another cup of yogurt!). we ate three hearty meals a day - they were delicious, healthy, and the menus were varied. beer and wine are included. meals are served plated, and guests eat together. from time to time ryan and a guide may join you.

we were there before the salmon started running. even so, the fishing was great. we caught dolly varden. lots of 'em. it is incredibly peaceful. you can fish (waders and all necessary gear are provided), go looking for bears or hike a little. whatever you do, you'll enjoy it.

this is a magnificent spot. you will be well cared for and you will enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wextraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redoubt Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redoubt Mountain Lodge

Property: Redoubt Mountain Lodge
Address: Lake Clark National Park and Preserve, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Redoubt Mountain Lodge Alaska/Lake Clark National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing