We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exit Glacier, Seward”
Review of Exit Glacier

Exit Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Exit Glacier Naturalist Hike
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hike up the well-maintained path to the top of the glacier.
Albany, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exit Glacier, Seward”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I visited Exit Glacier while visiting Seward this week. The day was cloudy, foggy, and wet, but we made the short drive from town to see the sights. Upon arrival, we stopped in at the visitor station to see if pets were allowed. They are not. They had a black bear visit the trail some 50 yards from the parking lot that morning. We left Molly in the truck.
Sue and I walked the half-mile trail to see the glacier from a clearing next to the fast running silty river. The fog had lifted enough to get pics and view of the entire glacier. Without sun, the pics are a bit washed out, but we were there.
This was an easy hike and the view worth the effort.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kennyk667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    153
    26
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Up Close With a Glacier”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Exit Glacier, part of Kenai Fjords National Park near Seward, Alaska, is only a few minutes off the Seward highway very near Seward itself. This is a glacier you can walk fairly close to. The prepared trails take you to within a long stones throw from the side of the glacier. If you want to actually touch a glacier, however, you will need to go elsewhere. I suggest Worthington Glacier north of Valdez as one option. The National Park Service keeps you away from Exit Glacier such that you cannot touch it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ford2cars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An easy fast hike to a huge Glacier!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hike is super easy and beautiful. The day we were there, the sun was shining and the trees and flowers were lovely. At every turn, there was a breathtaking vista--the river, the glacier, etc. This is one of those rare experiences where you get a huge amount of beautiful & fun with little cost. We saw families with small children and older grandparents...the path is so easy that almost anyone can do it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun hike, too many flies”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The walk up to the glacier and back were great fun for my kids (7&5). Very easy, yet full of twists and anticipation. Only problem were the huge number of flies and occasional wasps that were rather irritating. This was the first glacier that we saw and so, we were very impressed. There was even a Junior Ranger program at the visitor center. I saw some people go up to the glacier and touch it...but they went through a different route and looked very young and healthy compared to the average visitor. Not sure how easy it is to do that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cashewfeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Glacier Hiking Trails”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We got beautiful views of the glacier, but it would have been nice if the locals that suggested hiking in to the glacier were not boasting that you would be able to touch when the toe had been washed out and there was no ability to touch...perhaps better advertising about the status of the glacier would help to inform guests.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exit Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing