We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a day!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exit Glacier

Exit Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Exit Glacier Ice Hiking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hike up the well-maintained path to the top of the glacier.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a day!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We went on the half day glacier hike. The long walk to the glacier was beautiful..but being on the ice was fantastic.. the view was magnificent. Our guide was very knowledgable and professional. And to top of a great day we saw a black bear and her cubs on the way down.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank michval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    150
    25
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An easy and free way to see a glacier”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited Exit Glacier in the Kenai Fjords National Park and had a good time there. We arrived late and missed the Ranger hike so we decided to do one of the four hikes for which they had trails. We did hike #3 (I think this one is called The Edge ??). I was a bit concerned whether it would be too strenuous as I have some problems with my knees but the hike itself was fine. The path is clearly outlined and it wasn't difficult at all. When we got to the top, it was great to be so close to the glacier. We took a bunch of photos and then started going down. In total, I think it took 1 hour and it was good exercise. I didn't give this attraction 4 or 5 stars mainly because when we saw Exit Glacier, we had already walked on and ice climbed the Matanuska Glacier, kayaked next to Bear Glacier, and seen Aialik Glacier by cruise boat, so the "wow" factor was gone for us by then. However, I still do think this is pretty cool and the best part is that you can see this glacier fairly close for FREE!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hike to the glacier is very nice. The visitor center is nice and has a good display on glacier movement and wildlife. The center itself is not big but gives good information.

We decided to hike to the first viewpoint and then on to the glacier. You can get pretty close and have some great views. The hike to the glacier is boderline moderate. You need to be able to go up some steep sections.

Keep a lookout for wildlife since they are present.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tnlctygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
253 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fun Family Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stopped here on our way from Anchorage to meet our cruise ship in Seward. We hiked to the glacier and it was very interesting to see the signs that mark where the glacier had been in previous years. The hike is easy and we saw many family with young children. Strollers wouldn't work very well. Take bug spray.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Visitor Center, and the hike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We thought the visitor center was terrific and the rangers were very informative and interested in sharing more about the glacier and the area. We took the short hike to the glacier and were glad we did, one of the only up close and personal experiences we had with a glacier, and the hike was pretty. Even in the rain....make this a part of your afternoon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exit Glacier also viewed

 

Been to Exit Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing