We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
60
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fly fishing great fishing trout fishing experience great variety world class the river wonderful hosts alaskan wilderness look no further fishermen women owners chris anyone who wants various locations early season remote location a great experience
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 61 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

I took my two grandsons (15 and 12) and son in law (their dad) for six days there. We are all experienced fly fishermen. Our entire experience from flights in and out and in the Lodge, and fishing was great. The hosts were gracious; food excellent. We all stayed in one cabin, which was most comfortable, better than similar lodges I have been to elsewhere. But what we liked the most was the wonderful fishing. The guides were tops, and I have fished with guides in Colorado, New Mexico, and Canada, and the Royal Wolf guides were as good as any I have used. We had a good variety of fishing: rainbows, Arctic Grayling, salmon, although our main target most days was the huge rainbows. We flew in to various locations, which provided a great variety of experiences. We all want to go back!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatmaiKate, Owner at Royal Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review, we enjoyed your family and hope you do come back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

This was our 45th year of catch & release Rainbow Trout fishing in Alaska, and our 15th year at ROYAL WOLF LODGE. Of the several lodges we've stayed, ROYAL WOLF is, by far, the very best It has the best guides, the safest pilots, and fishes the best rivers; a combination that gives the most rewarding and enjoyable fishing experience.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnE6640KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatmaiKate, Owner at Royal Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Thank you John, we've enjoyed your company as well and hope you keep on fishing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

We spent an early season week, June 16-23. Excellent in all areas. Very knowledgable guides and wonderful hosts. Food was great. The fishing was unbelievable. I would highly recommend the Royal Wolf Lodge

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatmaiKate, Owner at Royal Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you so much, we enjoyed your company and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Every part of the experience of staying at Royal Wolf Lodge was delightfully amazingl. This is my second trip to Royal Wolf Lodge and I highly recommend it. The guides, pilots and staff are outstanding, the meals were delicious and beautifully presented, the opportunities for breath taking photographs were constant, flying to different river systems each day was a highlight and the fly fishing is simply unbelievable. Each comfortable cabin is within close proximity of the lodge and each has it's own spectacular view. If you are wondering about treating yourself and booking at Royal Wolf Lodge for the ultimate Alaskan fly fishing adventure... just do it!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rloxdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatmaiKate, Owner at Royal Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you Ray, it was a pleasure having you and your son at the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

Fished for 6 days with my father and had the best time of any of our trips to Alaska. The pilots are excellent, food is great and staff is like a family. Fishing and knowledge of the rivers is second to none with one giant rainbow after another. I have been to other lodges in this area before but non compare....awesome would be an understate!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Clazzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatmaiKate, Owner at Royal Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review, we loved you and your father as well and hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews