We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geology and hiking - what's not to love?”

Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes
Book In Advance
More Info
$680.00*
and up
Alaska Bear Country Day Trip to Katmai or Lake Clark by Airplane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area offers many hiking options.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Geology and hiking - what's not to love?”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A nice way to spend a day at Brooks. Beautiful scenery, relaxing drive, yummy lunch (I believe you have the option to bring your own.... but we opted for the one you could pay for).

I highly recommend the hike to the falls. It's 1.5 miles each way with an 800-900' elevation change and it's downhill on the way to the falls. I'm overweight and not athletic but I did the hike in 2.5 hrs and was glad I went all the way to the falls. They are beautiful and it gets you close to the orangey-yellow ash/pumice that makes up the valley.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank srpilch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No smoke but great hiking”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

During our stay at Brooks Camp, we took the bus to Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes. It was a relaxing trip with lots of stops for photo ops. We were provided sandwiches and then had the option to go for a group hike or individual. We opted to race down the valley on our own and were met on numerous occasions by others from our bus who were doing the same. Our guide was keeping pace. It was a fun day and we got lucky that it didn't rain.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sweetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good Gig, Great Hike Too”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a good morning trip and a beautiful ride into the heat of the park. If you like a great hike, you got it with this gig. Ride upfront in the bus.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank allenriverford28036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nature, volcanoes, waterfalls, bears: simply spectacular!”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Valley of 10,000 smokes is located at the Katmai National Park and Preserve in King Salmon, Alaska. This area has been preserved because of its uniqueness. It was the places for the largest volcanic eruption of the 20th century. The only way to access this area is by coordinating a trip with Katmai Air and Brooks Lodge. You will have a NPS Park Ranger with you but the transportation must be arranged with them, that is the only way to get there since it is 23 miles away from Brooks Camp. It is not recommended at all for people with disabilities due facilities limitations, unless you want to just to do the trip for the view at the cabin.

The trip has 3 stops with a 10 mins talk on each stop by the Park Ranger. The total travel time to the Valley is about 2.5 hours each way. At the arrival to the Three Forks Cabin you will have 30 mins for lunch. Then the Ranger will lead the hike to the Yukah falls which is about 1.5 miles downhill. Keep in mind you might get wet or get very hot depending on the weather conditions. The weather at the Valley is extreme. Once the hike starts there are not bathrooms, so keep that in mind!

Bring a camel pack, a big bottle of water fruits or trail mix! People interesting in staying for a couple of days must have backpacking experience. Novarupta the eruption site is about 20 miles from the Cabin. Fill out the travel plan at the Brooks Camp!

On the way back you will feel very tired, but the hike and the views are amazing. Once in a lifetime experience. The trip starts 7am, and group will be back around 4:00pm!

Conclusion: Highly recommended!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Swadeshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tour to 10,000 is worth the effort”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

When planning our trip to Katmai last year our tour planner asked whether we wanted to add the visit to "The Valley of 10,000 Smokes" There wasn't much literature about the attraction however the information we found did make it sound interesting. You get on vans by the lower bridge at Brook's Lodge and travel about 30-45 minutes stopping occasionally to look at great scenery and wildlife.
The actual visit to the overlook of Novarupta is amazing. The landscape looks like you are visiting another planet. Very barren and covered with ash. There is a hike to the falls included that is not a great distance but it is strenuous because of the change in elevation. It is worth the walk but give yourself plenty of time for the walk back up to the top.
This is a side tour that I would highly recommend.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
6 Thank Alaskarookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes also viewed

Katmai National Park and Preserve, AK
Katmai National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Katmai National Park and Preserve, AK
Katmai National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing