We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time - still wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sacred Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sacred Sands
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd time - still wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We called a month ago and they had a cancellation and opening for a weekend visit. Still a wonderful experience. Great food. Rooms that are cozy and warm, but my favorite is still the outside spas with a window you can look out on to the desert at night and platform beds outside with mattresses, blankets and pillows for snuggling up to look at the stars even when 50 mile an hour wind is blowing (really, it was crazy). Great hosts. Steve and Scott always have great tips for hikes and adventures that suit our agenda. I will not list them here. Want to keep them to ourselves so you will just have to go to Sacred Sands to get their expert recommendàtions.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
115
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything about Sacred Sands is perfect--it is an oasis of luxury that is all the more beautiful in contrast to the harsh landscape that surrounds it! This was our second stay and it was just as perfect as our first stay. A few of the many things that we love about Sacred Sands:
- Rooms are beautifully appointed, with lots of unique touches. This is not a big box hotel; you feel like you are staying in the home of a very clean and gracious host.
- Nice size bathrooms with a super large shower and also sorts of fun shower settings.
- An outdoor shower in each room, definitely a treat.
- Private hot tub in each room, also a real treat. It's great to sit out in our private tub under the stars.
- The best sheets ever. Honestly, I don't know what they were made out of, but they were awesome. The bed is super comfortable too.
- The rooms are very quiet and private. The haystack walls really dampen any sound. Unless you are both out on your patio at the same time, you'll never hear your neighbors--we didn't even know anyone else was staying at the B&B until we saw our neighbors at breakfast.
- Breakfast was excellent. We had eggs with mole sauce one day and a baked egg dish the second day, both were served with fruit and a side. It was the right amount of food and tasted great. We also love that we can pick the time that we want to have breakfast.
- Scott and Steve are fantastic hosts. Very generous with their time and advice, and even let us borrow a couple of their books while we were there. They are very knowledgeable of the park and the area; we relied on them exclusively for recommendations of things to do.
- For hiking in Joshua Tree, the location of the B&B also can't be beat--just a very short drive from the park entrance.

We don't have anything negative to say; this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong--both rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I Stayed with Scott and Steve for two nights last week. They were the perfect hosts..unobtrusive and totally accomodating. The rooms were sublime and the setting spectacular. Delicious al fresco breakfasts; and the dinner recommendation (they said it was good people-watching..it was!) was great fun. They know the area and 'the park' inside out and we're more than willing to share. Can't wait to return! Thanks again guys; and build those two more rooms!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklinemichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here recently and it surpassed our expectations (even after reading all these great reviews!) Everything is beautifully decorated from the rooms to the "great room" to the private stone patio to the cute sitting areas in the outside common area. Looking out from your private patio, all you see is desert. You feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, yet you aren't really THAT far away from civilization. The private jacuzzi is a huge plus. The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious. As other reviewers mentioned, Scott and Steve were extremely helpful recommending areas of the park to visit and where to eat, yet they never overbearing. We felt like they were there for anything we needed, yet we felt total privacy. There aren't too many places to eat right in Joshua Tree, but it's enough for a few days. Definitely get sandwiches, etc to bring into the park for lunch if you plan on being there the whole day since obviously there is no place to buy food in the park. Scott and Steve recommended a great place for dinner: Pappy and Harriett's, 25 minutes away in the middle of nowhere in Pioneertown. Great BBQ-type food, live music every night. It's an experience.... you really feel like you're in the country. If you're looking for extreme relaxation in the middle of the desert, stay at Sacred Sands!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I read the reviews and had high expectations. Our experience exceeded every expectation. Scott and Steve are very gracious and accommodating. The vegetarian breakfast was delicious, as well as, artistic in its presentation. The little touches around the inn were unique and luxurious. The location has wonderful views and is very close to the entrance of the park. Make sure you ask to see their very lovable dogs :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OCgal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago. The place has fantastic zen and is one of the best places I have stayed. Scott and Steve did delicious and unique breakfasts both days, enough to keep us going well into the afternoon. They are very friendly and have interesting books, art and decorations in the very cosy breakfast space. The room was beautifully furnished, especially loved the wooden bedside lamp. The deck with the hot tub looking out onto the desert hills was fantastic for relaxing while enjoying a wine. I liked spending some time reading out by the cactus garden. Joshua Tree National Park was just up the road, and has very interesting rock formations, the Joshua Trees and other desert plants. It snowed the second morning, and it was quite an experience getting sunrise shots with snow covering the rocks and trees. Sacred Sands is not cheap, but worth every dollar, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in the West room, the deck and view was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hcreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife was questioning my choice of Sacred Sands until we rounded the corner and entered the grounds. At that point, all she said was 'this is awesome'!

The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are definitely 'zen'. The location is perfect, just a mile from Joshua Tree and pretty much accessible to everything the area has to offer. Scott and Steve could not have been more friendly and welcoming and their breakfasts were awesome as well. This place is indeed special and we will certainly be back in the near future.

Highly recommended. It is almost certainly the best place to stay when visiting Joshua Tree. Make your reservation now, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greytdoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree National Park
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
13.0 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Sands

Property: Sacred Sands
Address: 63155 Quail Springs Road, HC1 Box 1071 A, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sacred Sands Hotel Joshua Tree National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing