We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hidden Valley
from $199.00
More Info
from $33.00
More Info
from $22.02
More Info
from $1,349.00
More Info
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveler rating
461
168
21
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
461
168
21
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock formations picnic area joshua trees easy hike all ages short hike parking lot yucca national park nice hike loop trail palm springs visitor center valley cattle mile landscape
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 653 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019

We took the Hidden Valley hike in early April and it was excellent, with very comfortable temperatures in the high 60s. Although the Park itself is fantastic, we found it to be a bit repetitive after a while, and not as diverse as other national parks (with much of the same flora and scenery throughout). This short one-mile loop packs a lot of the Park's highlights in one enjoyable hike. It's also always very nice to walk on a loop trail that brings you back to where you started without going back and forth in the same route. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank travelseemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

One of the best areas to see Joshua Trees in abundance. We were here as part of a nature and landscape photography workshop. The surroundings feel like something from when dinosaurs walked the earth. Just beautiful.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

A very good hike that was both beautiful and enjoyable. The rock formations were abundant, so were the Joshua Trees and other nature.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank UwU098
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Short hiking loop, but the enclosed nature of Hidden Valley means that you feel a long way away from civilisation very quickly. The access point is narrow and stepped, opening out into a film set-like landscape of boulders and relict pine/juniper trees. Grippy granite good for climbing, but TBH just a wonderful place to sit on a rock, and be. Recommended.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019

We are so glad to visit Joshua tree at the best time in March 2019. We , in South California Had soooo much rain this winter season. Which means, we get all pleasure back in March and April for Desert Bloom!!! I mean, the trees and rocks are amazing but with the amazing wild flowers every where was something we couldn't ask for more!

The kids (age of 4-7) had so much fun rock climbing with parents' aid. In wild flower field, they were fascinated by caterpillars. They had so much fun finding and counting them.

Adults had so much fun taking pictures, seeing the kids happy :)

Tips when you go with toddlers (or not)
- Food!!! I mean... desert and nature is good and all. But we wouldn't have enjoyed without snacks and food! we went for a day trip, I bought extra snacks but we got lost so we eat all....Bring cooler or even a cooler bag was nice. We got some cool string cheese, yogurt, smoothie, milk, fruit. Once you are there, There won't be any shop !!!! You are on your own! oh, and bring lot of water!
- Bring some toilet paper, soap and water to wash hand in the car. Public bathrooms are clean but they can run out of paper. There won't necessary be sanitizer for you as well!! :S
- Walkie talkie: You will thank me if you bring ones there :) There won't be any signal for you. We went with 2 families and it was a life saver. We lost each other and was able to walkie talkie and met back. It was pretty awesome.
- Hiking shoes or the shoes that have thick sole. In one of the cactus field, we walked onto the spikes and they went half way into our toddler's shoes!! But there was no harm because our shoes were thick enough.

Park pass is $30 but we have annual pass from Yosemite and they said we could use it.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank JijiA780
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews