We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but nice”
Review of Rock Harbor Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle Royale National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Harbor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Arriving on the Voyager II around 3:00 PM, (CDT) at Snug Harbor where the main Isle Royale dock and the Rock Harbor Lodge are located, we were greeted by a nice young man who loaded all the luggage for those booked into the Lodge and delivered them to our rooms. We had reserved a housekeeping cabin and were pleasantly surprised at the size and neat appearance of the cabin. The cabins are duplex with two units per building. Our cabin, # 212, was at the end of a cul-de-sac which provided good privacy and overlooked Tobin Harbor. The cabin had huge floor-to-ceiling windows with a great view of the harbor through the trees. Believe all cabins #'s 201 through 212 have good views similar to ours. Other cabins are set back in the woods and are probably very nice but without the view. Cabin had a double bed and two bunk beds, kitchenette with microwave, stove/oven, and refrigerator. A coffeemaker is provided, along with minimal dishes but no coffee. No TV, telephone, or Wifi, but there is a radio so you're not cut off from civilization totally. The cabins are located a good way, probably one half mile, and up a hill, from the main lodge and restaurants, so if walking is a problem, a room in the lodge might be better. There are two places to eat – the main (expensive) Lighthouse restaurant and the Greenstone Grill with lighter and slightly cheaper fare. Of course you can bring your own food and cook in the cabin. Both eating places were open for breakfast, 7:00-8:30 AM, lunch, noon-1:30 PM, and diner, 5:30-7:30 (EDT). The restaurant has a pretty limited menu and no a la carte is allowed. The Voyager II operates out of Grand Portage which is on Central time while the island is on Eastern. Caused some confusion at first. The restaurant and grill both serve beer and wine but no mixed drinks. If you want liquor, bring your own. The small store/trading post has a very limited selection of beer (saw no wine), soft drinks, and minimal selection of food/snacks, etc. The cabins have no maid service, but towels will be exchanged if you leave them on the porch railing. You are asked to leave the cabin in reasonably clean condition in order to get your cleaning deposit (which I wasn't aware of) back. At departure, the same nice young man picked up luggage and delivered it to the boat. All in all a very peasant and enjoyable, though pricey, stay.

Room Tip: Cabins 201 to 212 have best views but are far from restaurant and docks. Lodge rooms probably best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

Booked our room in April for labor day weekend. Seemed only about 50% full. Staff pleasant at check in and bellhop transports luggage to seaplane or ferry boat dock.
Like most of the national parks lodges the scenery and location are awesome , but the structures are old and badly need updating. Probably built in the 1940s. Mattress sagged in the center. Doors and locks rusty and stuck a lot. Of course this lodge is the only game in town for non campers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Gwenbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is completely overpriced and unfortunately it can be because it's the only lodging on the island. We loved the view from our room and the porch, but that's about it. No amenities were included because you had to buy a separate even more outrageously priced package for the meals.

We loved Isle Royal and the experience we had there. We got a massage and that was one of the best choices we made the entire time! She was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank WeLovePugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We arrived with another couple and stayed in separate buildings. We expected our room to be spartan, which it was, due to the remoteness of the location. It appeared clean and the beds were fine, except for the bottom sheets which were not fitted and hence came loose during the night. Our friends had a basket which had not been emptied when they arrived in their room (and never was during their 3 day stay), and we had a used hand towel on our sink when we checked in. Not a confidence builder. Rooms (at $250/night) are very pricey and so is the food. Service at the restaurant varies greatly depending upon your server, and training and/or supervision seems to be the issue. Two of our meals were substandard (Eggplant and pork dishes) and one unigue hummus wrap had "tons" of onions, but minimal hummus and no cream cheese nor pepper as advertised. For breakfast, the "jumbo" flap jacks were about 5 inches across. Each couple billed their own meals to the room, but since only one name appeared on the initial reservation, all costs were combined and could not be separated. Strange since we each signed our bill and added gratuities. Glad we went to enjoy and hike the area, but with the value received will not go again unless we bring our own food and camp instead.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Andy42036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The room was nice with a nice view. A breeze blowing in from Lake Superior through the ample windows left the room cool and fresh. The food at the restaurant was very good (try the 12 oz. NY strip and the Lake trout after an exillarating hike). Service was excellent. All the folks we ran into were friendly. It was a little pricey, but very nice. We would go back!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms have a porch facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Mack055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just got back from three-night stay at the Lodge. Had a fabulous time. Never saw a moose, but we got to hear from Rolfe Peterson, the renowned director of the prey/predator study that has been going on at the park for more than 50 years now at one of the evening programs at the auditorium on the Lodge grounds. The rooms faced Lake Superior, and one of our group even took a dip off the rocks fronting our building. Too cold to spend more than a few seconds in the water, but the days were pleasantly warm, just the right temperature for hiking the network of trails emanating from the lodge. Food was very good in my opinion. Plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. And the fish was delectable. Rooms have no TV or telephones, and there is no interenet available. Perfect getaway!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a balconey, while those on the second do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank twintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Basic lodge with comfy, quiet rooms along the shore of Rock Harbor, Lake Superior. Able to film the sunrise each morning from our deck looking out at the harbor. A little overpriced, but you are in a National Park and the only accomodations on the island. Very close to the restaurant & The Greenstone Grill where we ate most of our meals.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gmweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Harbor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Harbor Lodge

Address: Lake Superior, Isle Royale National Park, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Isle Royale National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Isle Royale National Park
Price Range: $215 - $3,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Rock Harbor Hotel Isle Royale National Park
Rock Harbor Lodge Isle Royale National Park, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing