We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area, substandard service”
Review of Rock Harbor Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle Royale National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Harbor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We arrived with another couple and stayed in separate buildings. We expected our room to be spartan, which it was, due to the remoteness of the location. It appeared clean and the beds were fine, except for the bottom sheets which were not fitted and hence came loose during the night. Our friends had a basket which had not been emptied when they arrived in their room (and never was during their 3 day stay), and we had a used hand towel on our sink when we checked in. Not a confidence builder. Rooms (at $250/night) are very pricey and so is the food. Service at the restaurant varies greatly depending upon your server, and training and/or supervision seems to be the issue. Two of our meals were substandard (Eggplant and pork dishes) and one unigue hummus wrap had "tons" of onions, but minimal hummus and no cream cheese nor pepper as advertised. For breakfast, the "jumbo" flap jacks were about 5 inches across. Each couple billed their own meals to the room, but since only one name appeared on the initial reservation, all costs were combined and could not be separated. Strange since we each signed our bill and added gratuities. Glad we went to enjoy and hike the area, but with the value received will not go again unless we bring our own food and camp instead.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Andy42036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

The room was nice with a nice view. A breeze blowing in from Lake Superior through the ample windows left the room cool and fresh. The food at the restaurant was very good (try the 12 oz. NY strip and the Lake trout after an exillarating hike). Service was excellent. All the folks we ran into were friendly. It was a little pricey, but very nice. We would go back!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms have a porch facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Mack055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just got back from three-night stay at the Lodge. Had a fabulous time. Never saw a moose, but we got to hear from Rolfe Peterson, the renowned director of the prey/predator study that has been going on at the park for more than 50 years now at one of the evening programs at the auditorium on the Lodge grounds. The rooms faced Lake Superior, and one of our group even took a dip off the rocks fronting our building. Too cold to spend more than a few seconds in the water, but the days were pleasantly warm, just the right temperature for hiking the network of trails emanating from the lodge. Food was very good in my opinion. Plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. And the fish was delectable. Rooms have no TV or telephones, and there is no interenet available. Perfect getaway!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a balconey, while those on the second do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank twintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Basic lodge with comfy, quiet rooms along the shore of Rock Harbor, Lake Superior. Able to film the sunrise each morning from our deck looking out at the harbor. A little overpriced, but you are in a National Park and the only accomodations on the island. Very close to the restaurant & The Greenstone Grill where we ate most of our meals.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gmweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

spent 5 nights at Rock Harbor Lodge with group - rooms very basic but clean and comfortable, park rangers were informative, restaurant food was good but pricey. . didn't see any moose - moose droppings were as close as we came. The Park is beautiful, the trip across Lake Superior from Houghton by ferry was fine, and it had been a life long dream of mine to go there. Glad to have gone but you could save money and spend a lot less cash traveling the Upper Peninsula of Michigan - the serenity and scenery is comparable, its cheaper and you don't have to worry about getting stranded on an island due to inclement weather. The price was okay with a group but individually it is expensive unless you plan to hike and camp.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank chicagotoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We back-packed & then stayed for 2 nights at the lodge. One of the two space heaters in this several hundred dollar cabin did not work and when I reported it to the desk I was told, "this isn't the Waldorff". After one night we were moved to a smaller room, saggy mattress, hot water heater wasn't working ( I did report it , they did attend to it and we had hot water in 3 hours) & had to pay $8.00 more. There was a gale storm, no shelters available to hikers that night, we let 2 backpackers suffering for hypothermia in to take showers. The manager came pounding on our door & said he was kicking us out or we could pay $200.00 more since we did not list these people on our registration. Absolutely no compassion for these hikers, who only needed to get warm. The island itself is remarkable but I would never-ever stay at the lodge or would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank cing2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Isle Royale itself is wonderful. The lodge rooms are pretty basic and expensive, but you know that going in.

We were forced to stay two additional nights due to weather problems. We were downgraded from a room with two beds and a full bath to one about half the size with one bed and a tiny bathroom. The ceiling also leaked in the rain. For the same price of course.

The manager (Kim) was extremely unhelpful and was willing to only list the things that he could not be responsible for. Since our return flight was cancelled due to weather and there are limited communications to the mainland, we depended on him to help us get off the island. He was patently uninterested in doing so in order to keep us in his rooms. Luckily the NPS was able to find us a way home.

He also kicked a couple out of their room because they allowed some soaked hikers to use their shower (instead of paying $6 for 5 minutes at his shower rental).

Finally, he accused us of having extra guests in our room when we were playing cards with people we had met there. He wanted to up our rate by $58 per person, so we gave up and went to the guest house.

Unfortunately, it is the only game in town. So if you're coming to Isle Royale, either be prepared for gruff treatment or camp.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Jeffs8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Harbor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Harbor Lodge

Address: Lake Superior, Isle Royale National Park, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Isle Royale National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Isle Royale National Park
Price Range: $215 - $3,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Rock Harbor Hotel Isle Royale National Park
Rock Harbor Lodge Isle Royale National Park, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing