We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, rustic”
Review of Rock Harbor Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle Royale National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Harbor Lodge
Huntington, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint, rustic”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The room was nice with a nice view. A breeze blowing in from Lake Superior through the ample windows left the room cool and fresh. The food at the restaurant was very good (try the 12 oz. NY strip and the Lake trout after an exillarating hike). Service was excellent. All the folks we ran into were friendly. It was a little pricey, but very nice. We would go back!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms have a porch facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mack055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just got back from three-night stay at the Lodge. Had a fabulous time. Never saw a moose, but we got to hear from Rolfe Peterson, the renowned director of the prey/predator study that has been going on at the park for more than 50 years now at one of the evening programs at the auditorium on the Lodge grounds. The rooms faced Lake Superior, and one of our group even took a dip off the rocks fronting our building. Too cold to spend more than a few seconds in the water, but the days were pleasantly warm, just the right temperature for hiking the network of trails emanating from the lodge. Food was very good in my opinion. Plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. And the fish was delectable. Rooms have no TV or telephones, and there is no interenet available. Perfect getaway!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a balconey, while those on the second do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank twintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Basic lodge with comfy, quiet rooms along the shore of Rock Harbor, Lake Superior. Able to film the sunrise each morning from our deck looking out at the harbor. A little overpriced, but you are in a National Park and the only accomodations on the island. Very close to the restaurant & The Greenstone Grill where we ate most of our meals.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gmweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
365 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

spent 5 nights at Rock Harbor Lodge with group - rooms very basic but clean and comfortable, park rangers were informative, restaurant food was good but pricey. . didn't see any moose - moose droppings were as close as we came. The Park is beautiful, the trip across Lake Superior from Houghton by ferry was fine, and it had been a life long dream of mine to go there. Glad to have gone but you could save money and spend a lot less cash traveling the Upper Peninsula of Michigan - the serenity and scenery is comparable, its cheaper and you don't have to worry about getting stranded on an island due to inclement weather. The price was okay with a group but individually it is expensive unless you plan to hike and camp.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank chicagotoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We back-packed & then stayed for 2 nights at the lodge. One of the two space heaters in this several hundred dollar cabin did not work and when I reported it to the desk I was told, "this isn't the Waldorff". After one night we were moved to a smaller room, saggy mattress, hot water heater wasn't working ( I did report it , they did attend to it and we had hot water in 3 hours) & had to pay $8.00 more. There was a gale storm, no shelters available to hikers that night, we let 2 backpackers suffering for hypothermia in to take showers. The manager came pounding on our door & said he was kicking us out or we could pay $200.00 more since we did not list these people on our registration. Absolutely no compassion for these hikers, who only needed to get warm. The island itself is remarkable but I would never-ever stay at the lodge or would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank cing2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Isle Royale itself is wonderful. The lodge rooms are pretty basic and expensive, but you know that going in.

We were forced to stay two additional nights due to weather problems. We were downgraded from a room with two beds and a full bath to one about half the size with one bed and a tiny bathroom. The ceiling also leaked in the rain. For the same price of course.

The manager (Kim) was extremely unhelpful and was willing to only list the things that he could not be responsible for. Since our return flight was cancelled due to weather and there are limited communications to the mainland, we depended on him to help us get off the island. He was patently uninterested in doing so in order to keep us in his rooms. Luckily the NPS was able to find us a way home.

He also kicked a couple out of their room because they allowed some soaked hikers to use their shower (instead of paying $6 for 5 minutes at his shower rental).

Finally, he accused us of having extra guests in our room when we were playing cards with people we had met there. He wanted to up our rate by $58 per person, so we gave up and went to the guest house.

Unfortunately, it is the only game in town. So if you're coming to Isle Royale, either be prepared for gruff treatment or camp.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Jeffs8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

First of all..if you want a vacation that involves watching TV or surfing the internet or being able to make and receive calls all day - Isle Royale is not the place for you. I loved the feeling of being away from it all. The time went slowly, but didn't drag. You just lose yourself in your surroundings. We'd just sit on our deck for hours watching the water and listening to the loons. Very peaceful, very relaxing...especially after a long day of hiking. The rooms are very basic and very expensive...that's just how it is. I imagine that having to transport everything to the island and provide water and electricity for guests on a remote island is neither easy nor cheap...and guests pay for that luxury. it would be nice if they offered some sort of price break for staying longer than a day. The room itself was very basic...but I thought it was comfortable. I slept well every night. Not without problems. We had no water to our room for a couple of hours, but they worked at it until it was restored. You have to consider when thinking about staying at Rock Harbor Lodge that you are going to be miles and miles and miles from "civilization"...if you don't understand that that means some loss of luxuries..then don't go. My feeling is that Rock Harbor Lodge is for people who want to escape to the wilderness, but really don't have the desire/ability to strap on a 70 pound backpack and venture out into the rugged terrain. I thought the staff were all very friendly and helpful, beautiful location, unsurpassed views of nature. I loved that our luggage was delivered right to our room and then picked up again and brought to the boat when it was time to leave...very painless.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank zillymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle Royale National Park
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.0 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
0.6 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
9.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
24.7 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Harbor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Harbor Lodge

Property: Rock Harbor Lodge
Address: Lake Superior, Isle Royale National Park, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Isle Royale National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Isle Royale National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Rock Harbor Hotel Isle Royale National Park
Rock Harbor Lodge Isle Royale National Park, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing