We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gem in the jungle !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
At the Craters Edge
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful gem in the jungle !”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed at the Crater's Edge for two nights in June.The home is built in the rainforest, and the wrap-around deck and bay windows really give you the impression of being in the middle of it. We stayed in the NAHELELANI room, which was very clean and comfortable, with luxurious amenities such as a Jacuzzi bath, a large shower, King Size bed, etc. We enjoyed every minute of it.
Our only disappointment was the "Breakfast" part of this "Bed and Breakfast": because of new town laws, breakfast can no longer be served, and we were issued vouchers for a local café. The good news is that there is small refrigerator in the room, a coffee maker, plates and utensils, so we managed to make our own romantic breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBellefeuille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haleiwa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at the Crater's Edge for 2 nights and 3 days on the occasion of my daughter's birthday. She loved the cozy, comfy room with a king size 4 post bed and fireplace and enjoyed the sauna and jacuzzi very much.

We also took the opportunity to get a lomilomi massage from an excellent professional masseuse at a nearby local spa. Our host Melanie helped to set up the appointment. She is a wonderful and conscientious host.

The main house was also open to us and Melanie made strong local coffee and fresh chocolates. We were even invited to a special piano concert in the living room with about 3 dozen local artists and residents living in Volcano town. That was superb!

One night after dinner we took a ride to the Jagger museum visitor center where we watched the glowing pit of Halemaumau crater send a thick billowing plume of smoke into the moonlight night sky. That was spectacular. Another day we went to Pahala to enjoy the Ka'u coffee festival celebration and on the last day we took a nice half day hike across the lava fields to pu'u huluhulu and listened to the birds while looking out over the volcanic landscape.

It was a wonderful get away to a comfortable, quite, elegant home in a very special part of the Big Island. I would certainly recommend this to friends and family and would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed here for several days when we visited the Big Island last October. We stayed in a room called the Haiku Garden. Overall, we were very disappointed.

The "hotel" is really just 3 rooms in a private home on a side street. Not very easy to find. When we arrived at night, we were greeted with the following: "Who are you?" Needless to say, we did not feel welcome. There are many stairs up to the room from the driveway. There was no offer to help with our luggage. If you are elderly or have any physical limitations, we highly recommend that you do not stay here. Hauling the luggage up from the driveway to the room was a bit of a challenge.

The room was a little shabby and not super clean. These rooms are supposed to be "environmental," but our room had a jacuzzi? Also, if you use the bathroom floor warmer, then the hot water does not work in the shower.

Importantly, "Bed and Breakfast" is a misnomer. The room had opened cereal boxes, used peanut butter, and a half-empty milk jug. It was not very sanitary in our view. It was more like a hostel. There is no maid service whatsoever. There is no kitchenette, so you have to wash dishes in the bathroom sink.

The only positive is that it is very convenient to the volcano, but there are other lodging options that are equally convenient to the Volcanos National Park.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank islandspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed here while driving around the Big Island. We had stayed at larger hotels at other locations so it was fantastic to get such a lovely warm welcome here. We were shown around the apartment and then out into the gardens where the biggest surprise was. There was a jacuzzi hidden in the rain forest garden. It was beautiful with lovely lighting. Behind the jacuzzi was an actual volcano crater in the garden! The owners were lovely, very friendly, and were very informative.
The apartment had every you could want - and more! There was a little bread basket with home made banana bread and the fridge was stocked with everything that we needed. There is a couple of restaurants within a short walking distance, although the location feels as if you are in the middle of the rain forest. We thoroughly enjoyed it and it was an absolute joy to find this place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Great place to stay in Volcano. The website accurately describes this property, very comfortable, the bed was excellent, the surrondings are beautiful, the spa, was wonderful. The Rooms have plenty of fresh air, and quiet, and plenty of creature comforts. The owner Melanie leaves, fresh fruit, wine, bread, and chocolates for guests. The refrigerator, has all we needed for a health concious breakfast, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, tea and coffee.

We clike to spend our money on great accomodations when traveling, but like to save money on eating. We recommend the Cafe Ohia in Volcano, for great deli food at a reasonable price.

We would highly recommend "At Craters Edge" for anyone traveling to Hilo.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Dlight1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here hoping to have a romantic somewhat pampered experience for our honeymoon and we were quite disappointed with this B & B. Sure it looks nice in the pictures and don't get me wrong it's very nice but for the price we paid it sure wasn't worth it. We had to make our own breakfast from cheese string sticks in the fridge or from the single served boxes of cereal. Yes there were some nice fresh fruit when we got there, but if you're staying more than a couple of nights like we did nothing gets restocked and you end up having to go out and get your own food. The host wasn't there the whole time we were there so it felt like we were abandoned after we spent a lot of money. The rooms weren't nicely tidied up after we left or anything. We had to take out our own garbage as well. When I'm on vacation, let alone my honeymoon I don't want to do too much work or ALL the work for that matter. This place should be advertised as a Bed only...cause the breakfast and service was more or less MIA.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelz540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We were welcomed on our arrival and given some useful tips about visiting the Volcano National Park...which was just around the corner...and given a tour of our accommodation. We stayed in the Haiku Garden room for 3 nights for our honeymoon. What a wonderful place to stay! The jacuzzi and sauna in the open air amongst the rainforest trees was such a treat and the bed was so comfortable. And waking up in the morning, surrounded by the rainforest, was bliss. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeebrainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
56.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
2.9 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
868 reviews
56.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
55.8 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
57.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Craters Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Craters Edge

Property: At the Craters Edge
Address: 11-3802 Twelfth St, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — At the Craters Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary cedar and glass architect designed home nestled into the native rainforest outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Suites with Fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, King canopy beds. Outdoor hot tub. Beautiful furnishings and linens,Romantic, private setting. In room coffee, beverages and tropical fruit and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your At the Craters Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Craters Edge Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
At The Craters Edge Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing