We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namakani Paio Cabins
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins (#4) for 5 nights. They are basic with a double bed and two bunk beds so 4 people can sleep in them. Linens and towels are provided and you can get new ones if you see the cleaning person as they don't come into the cabin to clean or change any of these items. The cabins were very clean and have been recently painted. There is a picnic table outside along with a fireplace but wood is only available for sale and very expensive ($13 for a small bundle sitting in the cabin).
The cabin has one light on the inside and one on the outside but there are no electrical outlets. There is also no heat which means that once we came back to the cabin if we wanted to be warm we went to bed.
There are shared bathing facilities with two sinks, a toilet and a shower for each sex. Only the shower has hot water. Liquid soap is provided at the sinks only.
The camp area is about 4 miles from the entrance to the main part of the park. The fee is only collected off the main road there so although you don't go through the entrance gate to get to the campsite you do have to go through it every time you want to enter the main part of the park. Not a major problem just an annoyance.
There is no place to buy groceries in the park so you must go to the general store in Volcano which is very expensive or if coming from Hilo go to a supermarket there.
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank sevsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you really want to experience nature at volcano national park, I highly recommend these cabins. They were clean, and the location was great for a short hike or drive (down the street) to view the crater. We could see glow in the sky from the crater at night, just sitting in front of our cabin. It was shared restrooms, but they were clean and there's only a small number of cabins (maybe 10?) so not too crowded. You check in/out at Volcano House and have access to the wi-fi there, the view, and you can eat at the restaurant, etc. We're downtown city folk and found these cabins wonderful, so I'm sure anyone would enjoy, regardless of your nature skills :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

You have to check in at the Volcano House. Pay attention to the appropriate time for check-in, otherwise you lose out for the night. The campground is slightly removed from Volcanoes National Park, but not difficult to find. The signs are pretty good as long as you are paying attention.
We paid $55 a night since I have a Hawaiian ID. Otherwise I think it runs around $80 a night.
The blankets were very comfortable. It did get cold at night, but wasn't unbearable. The hard part was it was so cold in the morning that we were all afraid to shower. My mom braved it and said the water was warm enough to keep her comfortable.
Most or all of the cabins now have one outlet and lights. The area seems safe and secluded. The cabins were extremely clean and well kept. There was ample parking for everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent two nights in the Namakani Pai'o Cabins for our visit to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The cabins have been recently renovated and are clean and cozy. The cabin had one double bed and a set of bunk beds so would sleep 4, though there were just two of us. The bed had a warm comforter, which was a little too warm for our visit but since I'm usually cold when camping, I was happy to have it, and towels are provided as well. The cabin itself does not contain a table/chairs, but the A-frame design extends about 8 feet past the front door. This outdoor covered area contains a picnic table. Just in front of that is a fire pit, though it rained the two nights were were there so we didn't have the opportunity for a campfire.

When you check in at Volcano Lodge, you get a card key for the cabin door and a traditional metal key for the community restroom/shower building. We had two card keys but just one restroom key so had to share or coordinate usage. Both the men's and women's sides have a single shower with a bench and handheld shower head and it is fully handicapped accessible. I'm happy to report the water was hot enough for a good shower after a full day of hiking in the park.

At night, you can often see the glow from Halema`uma`u Crater, unless there is heavy fog like we had on the second night of our stay.

Overall, we had a great stay at the cabins and would stay there again. It's a budget-friendly way to visit HVNP if you like camping. If you aren't used to camping, this probably isn't a good option for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Geekgirl512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you want to stay a couple of days near the volcano, hike, visit the centers, enjoy sunsets, etc. and you are on a budget, this is a great choice, if not the best choice. Walking distance to the rim of the crater, these little cabins are clean, comfortable, with full bath facilities for all. Rustic, yes, but not too rustic. We were a group of 4, over 50 adults, sharing a cabin with a full bed and two twins, just to save money and stay near the crater. It worked well for us. The only problem is leaving at night to go to the bathroom amid other campers you don't know. It's also a bit noise at night.

Room Tip: Cabin #2 is close to trail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

For $55/night the Namakani cabins were an AMAZING value for those wanting to stay a night or two in Volcano, when you consider the prices of the other options (the Volcano House and a few B&Bs). We stayed for two nights before going to Kona for two nights (flew into Hilo and out of Kona). This place would also be perfect for someone staying a full week or longer on the Kona side, but wanting to take an extended trip to Volcanoes National Park... it is so affordable you could not check out of your hotel/condo and spend a night here.

The mattresses and linens were very new and clean. The bathroom facilities were also clean and well maintained. We didn't have cabin 3 (the one with the outlet), but were able to use the outlet in the bathroom to recharge our phones... in retrospect we regretted not bringing a car charger.

I would definitely recommend staying overnight (for at least one night) in Volcano for: 1. the opportunity to view the lava glow from the Jagger Museum viewing area at night (and not worry about making the drive back at night) and 2. being able to enjoy the most popular attractions at the park (the Kiluaea Iki hike and the Thurston lava tube) before the bus loads of tourists arrived.

A few things that we were glad we had for our stay: 1. a cooler bag (we bought food in Hilo), 2. flashlights (obviously), 3. rain ponchos, 4. warmer clothes, 5. a lighter (bought this in Hilo, for starting the campfire).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vrjenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were not expecting much but these cabins were great. We rented two cabins one for my husband and I and one for our two boys ages 20 and 17 and a friend. We knew we wanted to visit the volcano for one day so we just planned on staying in the cabins one night. There are only 10 cabins each have 3 beds, two singles and one double. They were very clean with great comforters for the chilly nights. They all have a fire pit and BBQ but no electrical outlets in the cabins, except cabin 3, there are lights in the cabin and electrical outlet in the community very clean bathrooms with shower. The best part was the half mile hike at night to the observation area to see the glow of the lava. Very nice marked trail from your cabin to the park. We would love to do this again with family or friends.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the only one with an electrical outlet but the bathrooms have outlets. I would pick the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kshelby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0 mi away
At the Craters Edge
At the Craters Edge
#2 of 3 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1,026 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Namakani Paio Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namakani Paio Cabins

Address: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Namakani Paio Cabins Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Namakani Paio Cabins Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing