We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, exceeded expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namakani Paio Cabins
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing value, exceeded expectations”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

For $55/night the Namakani cabins were an AMAZING value for those wanting to stay a night or two in Volcano, when you consider the prices of the other options (the Volcano House and a few B&Bs). We stayed for two nights before going to Kona for two nights (flew into Hilo and out of Kona). This place would also be perfect for someone staying a full week or longer on the Kona side, but wanting to take an extended trip to Volcanoes National Park... it is so affordable you could not check out of your hotel/condo and spend a night here.

The mattresses and linens were very new and clean. The bathroom facilities were also clean and well maintained. We didn't have cabin 3 (the one with the outlet), but were able to use the outlet in the bathroom to recharge our phones... in retrospect we regretted not bringing a car charger.

I would definitely recommend staying overnight (for at least one night) in Volcano for: 1. the opportunity to view the lava glow from the Jagger Museum viewing area at night (and not worry about making the drive back at night) and 2. being able to enjoy the most popular attractions at the park (the Kiluaea Iki hike and the Thurston lava tube) before the bus loads of tourists arrived.

A few things that we were glad we had for our stay: 1. a cooler bag (we bought food in Hilo), 2. flashlights (obviously), 3. rain ponchos, 4. warmer clothes, 5. a lighter (bought this in Hilo, for starting the campfire).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vrjenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were not expecting much but these cabins were great. We rented two cabins one for my husband and I and one for our two boys ages 20 and 17 and a friend. We knew we wanted to visit the volcano for one day so we just planned on staying in the cabins one night. There are only 10 cabins each have 3 beds, two singles and one double. They were very clean with great comforters for the chilly nights. They all have a fire pit and BBQ but no electrical outlets in the cabins, except cabin 3, there are lights in the cabin and electrical outlet in the community very clean bathrooms with shower. The best part was the half mile hike at night to the observation area to see the glow of the lava. Very nice marked trail from your cabin to the park. We would love to do this again with family or friends.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the only one with an electrical outlet but the bathrooms have outlets. I would pick the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshelby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

There are not many choices to rent a cabin in the woods on the Big Island. The cabin we stayed in was cute and very clean inside. The fire pit and BBQ grill (separate) are great for the out door experience. Community bath house is very clean with a roomy bathroom. It can get pretty cold at night and the provided beddings and thick blankets keep you warm. Firewood can be purchased, or you can gather some wood in the area for free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our visit to Volcano National Park. Good, simple, clean accommodation and for a very good price. Bed was comfy, linens and towels were good as well.
Check in and check out was excellent.
We stayed at cabin #3 which has electricity but it is next to the communal washrooms/shower building, we heard all sorts of noise during the night, especially the lady that went to the washroom @ 3 am with her wooden shoes.
Cabin number 10 is the farthest. The location of the cabins is a short walk to the Jagger Museum. Good spot to view the crater and lava activities at night.

Room Tip: Cabin number 10 is the farthest from the communal washroom building, away from all the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here in January. The cabins had nice heavy blankets. It was very close to the volcano, so we were able to get up early and see the volcano before the sunrise. The cabins were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The cabin was simple but clean. Towels and bedding provided. The shower and toilets are good. Our cabin had a power outlet.The location is great. You're only about a mile walk away from the Jaggar museum.

Room Tip: Cabin 3 has a power oulet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanneRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Cabins and beds were very comfortable for my family. Just a half mile hike on an easy trail to get to the Jaggar Museum to watch the night glow of the caldera. The campground facilities were nice and new. The campground made a great base to visit the Hilo and Kalae (South Point) areas of the Big Island, my personal favorite.

Room Tip: You can request Cabin 3 for the electrical outlet, and you can be the first one to show up at 3 p.m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank basil_hayden65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
0.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
868 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.0 mi away
At the Craters Edge
At the Craters Edge
#2 of 3 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namakani Paio Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namakani Paio Cabins

Property: Namakani Paio Cabins
Address: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Namakani Paio Cabins Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Namakani Paio Cabins Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing