We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to active volcano in hawaii big island”
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visit to active volcano in hawaii big island”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Must visit for all!! Nothing prepares you for the grandeur of standing on a live volcano crater!! Volcano house has excellent rooms with brilliant views and very friendly people serving the guests.

Ask for rooms with volcano view to exp the night view. Take a walk on all the trails around the hotels.

Only challenge for us veggies is food. But the hotel guided us to a great Thai rest near by and to Island naturals at hill where you get many veg choices. You need a car to drive around.highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank suresh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    421
    178
    82
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous view and good solid food.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for lunch and dinner yesterday after a day of hiking in the park.
You can also eat in the bar. It is the same view, with a smaller more limited but cheaper menu. Good appetizers, have the BBQ pork sliders!!! Had the coffee encrusted lamb for dinner and it was terrific. Great place to relax for dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mgmbenhurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Dine With Pele”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Yes, you're seated so the volcano is in view right outside the huge picture windows. We were there for lunch. Prices were reasonable and staff excellent. The view is the real draw, the food only average. Two of us ordered the lunch special which happened to be burgers, I had the fish bento box, and the last order was chicken teriyaki. We pretty much eat anything, but the chicken was served cold and we actually had to send it back. For some reason it took longer to get the burgers to the table, but when they got there they were good. Again, the big draw is eating where you can see the volcano which is why I gave this 4 stars.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Volcano House was a fabulous experience. We were seated in front of the windows that face the crater and had a great view. Our server, Sadie was fun, efficient and very accommodating. The food was served hot and was divine. Our steak and lamb was perfectly cooked and the vegetables were perfectly cooked, too. We were too full for dessert but the couple next to us said theirs was delicious

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveKinNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cocktails were delicious”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The view was spectacular, the cocktails delicious, the food okay. The service? Well, needs a little work. I'm a former 20 year F&B veteran. Server staff is young, and seemed to lack basic server skills. I felt a little like someone should be asking if I wanted fries with that cocktail. Suggest combing their hair and impart a little less casualness.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing