We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of Kilauea calderon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great view of Kilauea calderon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had flown over erupting Kilauea two days after the tsunami in 2011 and came back to look at the Volcanos National Park. Had lunch at Volcano House... very cool old place. When you first walk in you will walk into the bar and a very small dining area with a strange odor, like old cleaning supplies.... to your left is the main dining room, no smell. Food very good, as was the service. Must get the sweet potato chips (huge) with guacamole, so good. Decent prices considering where you are. Can sit by the window overlooking the calderon with rising steam vents.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lv2travelSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    404
    172
    75
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food not as good as the view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We drove down from Kona to see the volcanoes. Went to the Kilauea Visitor Center and saw the steam from the caldera. Decided to go eat dinner and come back after dark to see the view. We were visiting on a Monday and many of the local restaurants were closed on Monday. Decided to try the Volcano house for dinner. The view was outstanding. While we were not able to get a window table, we could see the light of the caldera from our table....beautiful. We didn't have to go back to the Visitor Center.

The food was pretty pricy but we decided to brave it for the view. One of our big eaters had the Fish of the day still looked hungry after he was done, but said it tasted good $28. Two others ordered pizzas and they were good and pretty reasonably priced. The $10 bowl of Squash soup seemed a little much. I love lamb and decided to try the Coffee-rubbed lamb. Strange, to say the least. Didn't expect it to be coated in coffee grounds???? There was no coffee flavor and the grounds were strange in my mouth. Once I got past the coffee grounds, the meat was tasty but not hot enough. On top of the strange experience, the waiter charged us $39 for the lamb which was $37 on the menu (still is).

Would probably go back for the view, but probably have appetizers in the bar as suggested by others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great view awful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a lovely lunch one day but it was your simple pizza and chicken type of lunch, the staff are great at the restaurant. We booked to have Christmas dinner here as not many places were open for Christmas Day in Volcano. What a let down! The view is great, you cannot be anywhere near as close to the crater rim without being cold. But unfortunately the food was your typical churned out pre prepared food, that once it reached us was barely warm and barely edible! We were served soba noodles in green tea and given a welcome cocktail on arrival, this was sadly the highlight of the whole meal. For a starter we were given Luke warm and congealed soup, the main consisted on a cold plate with meat, not cooked badly but the chef had no idea in meat prep, which lessened the enjoyment to quite a degree! The veggies were barely cooked, I am not being fussy but cooked vegetables should at least have been introduced to some kind of cooking. The mash was cold and lumpy, the polenta tasteless, all in all such a let down.
If they would only take a bit more pride and employ a decent chef this place could be fantastic!
The view is brilliant and really does make for a lovely dining experience and the staff do a great job and are very attentive, but with such a poor kitchen there is only so much you can be happy about whilst dining here!
After we had finished our meal in the main dining area we found out that the bar had been serving food and had a band on that seemed really good, we wish we had taken the simple,option and dined there instead.
Watch where you are placed in this establishment as you will not get what your money pays for in main dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tragil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Magical dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Newly remodeled and reopened, this restaurant overlooks the Halemaumau Caldera on Kilauea Volcano. If you visit at dusk, you are treated to a magical light show where the steam rising from the caldera turns from white to pink to deep orange/red. Get a window table.
The servers were friendly, efficient and accommodating. The food and drinks were excellent, on a par with great Napa Valley restaurants (similar prices too...).
The hotel has a warm fire in the lobby, as it can get cold and rainy at 4,000 feet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JGTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try the Ahi Poke!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stopped here mainly to have a drink and see the glow (fantastic view, btw), and boy are we glad we did. We ended up having a couple of drinks (you HAVE to drink mai tais in Hawaii, right? It's a law or something?! :) ), and several appetizers. Over the course of our nine days in the Islands, we had the opportunity to try many different types of poke, and the preparation at the Volcano House was our absolute favorite (the dinner appetizer. The lunch version included in the "bento style" meal is also good, but not quite the same)--so many different textures and flavors--yum.

Well located, good service, and delicious food. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slomak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing