We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveler rating
531
465
152
70
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
531
465
152
70
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crater view room great view national park second floor cookies no elevator jagger museum breakfast buffet rooms are small dining room worth the price gift shop once in a lifetime standard room visitor center hotel guests the big island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed overnight with my 8 year old granddaughter. The location is fantastic, right on the crater rim. The staff was helpful but the rooms are getting a bit dated. the best part was the 5 PM nature/information walk with a guide from the Friends of Hawaii Volcanos National Park--free to hotel guests and well worth the effort. It was a drizzly, cool evening but our spirits and interest were not dampened

Room tip: half of the rooms have a volcano crater view, but I suspect these are the more expensive ones
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHAVO, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Lou. Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hike by Friends of The Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

This was my third stay at the hotel. Had the same room this year as last (#11). The location, at the end of the hall, is good, but it appears they have cut in half the number of housekeepers assigned to the floor (that perhaps explains why prices have gone down in 2020 vs 2019) which means the room, as the last one cleaned, is given a quick once over with little to no attention to detail (by the time they reach the room the housekeeper wants to go home). Things are missed or not done. Receiving decaf coffee instead of “real” coffee is an inconvenience; not having other things replenished speaks for itself.

The room itself is fine and comfortable; the front staff friendly and attentive. We would likely return because this is the only option in the Park (except the Military Camp), but will need to be proactive to be sure they meet the expectations they set.

BTW, the pub/restaurant has maintained its high quality!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHAVO, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to point out where were missed the mark. We work hard to make every guests visit a memorable one and we apologies for the lack of attention to details in your room. It is great to hear you enjoyed the food at our restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Beware Cabin 1.

Check in at the hotel was fine. It is a 3.5mile drive to the campsite, which is quire pretty in the trees. The cabins are basic. They contain beds, bedding and towels only. There are electric lights and plug sockets.

The toilets and shower block are also basic but well maintained.

When we arrived to the cabin it was clean, if a little damp. As we got settled we started to notice a few ants and typical camping bugs around. No big deal. We settled for the night and it was raining quite heavily.

I'm not sure if the weather helped to cause this problem but we became inundated with ants crawling in from multiple holes in the cabin from the outside.

By midnight they were all around our bed and were coming onto the pillows.

We phoned reception who sent a maintenance guy. He saw the amount of ants and immediately phoned management. They offered an upgrade to the hotel at A COST TO us of 30dollars and for one night ONLY. We would have to return to the same cabin anty only 10hours later.

So we told the guy we would use the spray he had bought and sleep in the top bunk bed where there were much less ants. The spray worked to an extent and we were relatively ant free from 1am onwards. We day tripped the next day to return to ants all over our luggage and clothes which we had lifted off the floor. They were also now crawling round the top bunk. So we phoned the reception and after telling us that 'well you are in a cabin in the middle of the forest' again they offered a one night upgrade at a cost to us (despite there being availability for 2 nights online) or move cabin. We agreed to moved cabins where there was barely a single ant. It also wasn't half as damp as cabin 1.

We relayed this story and showed photos at checkout with barely a response or apology.

To Volcano House, you have ant and damp problem in cabin 1 (although we think you know as there were ant traps in cabin 1 and not in cabin 4). Your reception staff should show a little more compassion. We should have had a proper apology and been offered a discounted or refunded day 1 rate but all we had was blank face and the guy who told us he already apologised a day ago (when also reminding us we were in a forest). I wish I had been more adamant about this. 

As for the hotel, location is great but I would not stay again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank travelsKnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHAVO, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are sorry to hear that there was a problem with the cabin you were staying in. We have since taken care of it. There is always a balancing act with wildlife and in this instance, with the extreme weather, it became an issue. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you wish to discuss your stay further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

After a day of exploring Volcano National Park, my spouse and I decided to eat dinner at the Volcano House before heading back to our resort on the other side of the island. We had gone through VH to look at the caldera in its back yard earlier and had bought souvenirs in its shop. I’m glad we went back for dinner. The food was fine. I had the garden salad with what was billed as grilled chicken. Tender, yes, but not grilled (baked). Spouse got the fish and chips and proclaimed them very tasty.

What I really want to focus on, and the reason I gave a high ranking, is the staff. They could not have been more professional. The pride and care they take in providing quality service was quite evident. You can get a decent meal most places, but it’s service like that provided at the Volcano House that makes a meal a pleasure.

Kudos to the entire staff.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CHARLEST784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHAVO, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We will certainly let the staff know you were impressed with their quality of service and we hope you can visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Location, location, location. The Volcano House certainly has that in spades. But it also has a friendly, helpful staff with tips that made our trip perfect. James at the front desk was especially insightful. He tipped us off to watching the sunrise over the crater. While the sunset is magnificent, the sun rise included an amazing light show and a spectacular rainbow. Don’t miss it!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank QuincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews