We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,182)
Filter reviews
1,182 results
Traveler rating
500
437
145
66
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
500
437
145
66
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crater view room second floor national park cookies great view no elevator jagger museum breakfast buffet dining room rooms are small window table worth the price walls are thin gift shop once in a lifetime visitor center an amazing experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,182 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Right off the bat I want to let you know that you should not be expecting any sort of "modern" rooms. The rooms are older but my wife and I loved the charm! The rooms/bathrooms are pretty small but we don't spend much time in our rooms anyways, just needed somewhere to sleep. We originally had a 1st floor room but asked to be moved to the second floor because people were constantly walking past our windows and we didn't want to risk our room getting broken into. There is no air conditioning (it's pretty cool at night) so we just kept the windows open while we were there (hence wanting to be on the second floor). Overall a great place to stay if you want to spend a couple days exploring the national park!

Room tip: Second Floor facing the canyon (try to get a corner room!)
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjb0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Volcano House is a very good hotel, and we enjoyed it a lot. It is on the crater of the Mauna Loa,so you are right in Volcano National Park . The hotel does not have air conditioning which was not an issue at the time we visited. It is different from your usual chain hotels and a more rustic atmosphere.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JULIA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

This historic lodge located in the Volcano National Park is amazing! The customer service was phenomenal from reception ( that included complimentary Mimosas ) to housekeepers being friendly and thorough. The room was nostalgic and the beds comfortable. The lodge provides welcoming rooms by a fireplace & another with an overview of the volcano crater. Beautiful views and comfortable chairs - great opportunity to chat with fellow travelers if desired or tuck away for a great book after a day of hiking the National Park. The National Park is a great experience to understand our planet and the forces of nature. Very interesting! The volcano house restaurant is definitely a 5 star experience for dinner and for breakfast. We ate all morning & evening meals there after our first delicious encounter and also were affirmed by asking locals in Hilo about their favorite restaurant. Chef Daniel at morning buffet is the best and very friendly. Jeffery, the barista was a great conversationalist and helpful with nearby attractions. Great customer service all around. Would definitely recommend !

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PattyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely dinner at the Volcano House. Food was excellent and our server Beth was very knowledgeable about the wine list. Recommend reservations as the host acted like it would be a challenge to seat us, even though there were very few diners during the slow month of May.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

On previous visits, we've stayed (and loved) Volcano House, but this time we drove up from Kona to have lunch. It's one of the two easily accessible sites to the volcano crater (other access point is the steam vents). After all the activity last year, the volcano is back sound asleep. The meal at Volcano House is always impressive.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joheydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews