We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”
Review of Volcano House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

First off, get the room with the deluxe crater view. It will knock your socks off! Just sitting in your room at night and watching the volcanic crater will take your breath away. It lights up the night sky with fiery red clouds. The room was clean and newly renovated. Good water pressure in the bathroom. No TV, but that was not a problem for us but some people might have an issue with this. Free Wi-Fi, which is very nice. The breakfast is good and not expensive (it’s buffet breakfast). The restaurant reopens at night and it is a little on the high side. The bad side of staying in this area is that there is not much else in the way of choices to eat at. There is a small town nearby but there are only a few other places to eat. Bottom line, come and stay for the Volcanic National Park. Hilo is about 20-30 miles away if you get disparate. This is a fantastic place and it's full of history.

Room Tip: Get the room with the deluxe crater view! It's a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hooksch001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    317
    111
    52
    24
See reviews for
260
414
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jwparker
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

State parks are not noted for there food. This is an exception. They have both upscale and casual. They are both outstanding with exceptional service. Don't miss it! Also great view of the caldarin while you dine. At night you can see The magma glow. Very unique restaurant

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
293 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Made reservations at the restaurant. Need to make early reservations (before 6:30) if you want to have a window seat to view the volcano clearly. The food and service was average and a bit pricey but the view makes up for it. Service tended to be slow. If you wanted to go to the bar and view the volcano, you would have to get there around 5:00 for premium seating

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The location -- overlooking the volcano's glow -- is special, but the hotel feels tired and old. The walls are thin and you can hear neighbors and folks walking down the hall. For the expensive price, it does not offer value. The restaurant hostess, moreover, was rude and did not honor our reservation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Beautiful historic property overlooking the glow of the largest active volcano in Hawai'i. Under new management as of July 2013. We stay at a lot of National Park Service Properties, and this is a very nice property with staff that is trying very hard. Every staff person was knowledgeable and helpful. Bartender was very polite and helpful. As stated in other reviews, the room was clean and comfortable. We booked the less expensive "rainforest room" which means you don't face the volcano (actually the parking lot); but no big deal because there are ample common areas to view the volcano with a cocktail or coffee. We would return. We hope to return.

However, two points of criticism.

1. The restaurant is most poorly managed. Food was VERY good, but the host was better trained at apologizing for not having a table ready than in seating guests. He obviously had a lot of experience with his apology. I had an 8:00 reservation, and was seated at 8:40. Ok, I'm on vacation, so this isn't a big deal, right? Problem is, there were numerous parties waiting for tables, and the host was clearly taking walk ups before seating me with my reservation. Whenever you checked in, you were put on a list, and regardless of whether you had a reservation, that is order in which you were seated. Frustrating. However, my 40 minute wait for a table that I had reserved, was short compared to many folks that waited longer. Some just cancelled and left, some got irate with the staff. A souce of frustration in an otherwise very nice stay.

2. Getting up to watch the sunrise grow and the glow of the volcanoe decline in the morning light is a special event. Please have coffee service start a 6:00 am rather than 7:00 am.

Get the restaurant management in order, and this place become ideal.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is perched on top of a volcano on the edge of a rainforest. When we were visiting, you could see the light of an eruption reflected on the clouds of gas leaking from the crater. Looking back on it, I couldn't believe that I was able to book two rooms on three months notice over the Christmas holiday at such a unique and spectacular location. The price was reasonable and if you want to spend a few days away from the beach while visiting Hawaii, it is hard to see why the Volcano house will not provide a stay you will remember for a long time. Food was great and the hotels location provides a perfect base for exploring Volcano National Park. Nice gift shops with quality merchandise and all staff at the hotel were helpful. My compliments to the planners of the recent renovation.

Negatives? Service at the restaurant could be quite slow, they need more staff. Ask for the bill up front so you can eat and move on to see the park. The rooms have been recently renovated but still look like something from 1941, which was charming for us but need to be expected by guests. The weather during the day was good while we were there, but be prepared for cold and rain. Some rooms look out over the crater, some do not. Since you won't be in your room much outside of sleeping, that shouldn't matter. We had the parking lot rooms and did not care. These concerns are minor - just look out the window in the dining hall when the wind blows the fog away, or roll out of bed, into your car, and hike the Kiluea iki trail. Unforgettable. This is a special place. Book a room there before the word gets out that it has re-opened and there starts being booked full six months in advance.

Tip - the saddle road has been improved. If you are on the Kona side, it may be the best route. Also, if you are staying at the Volcano House on your first night in Hawaii, try booking a flight into Hilo. The trip is much shorter than from Kona.

Room Tip: Don't worry too much over weather you have a crater-view room, all the public rooms (where you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallasdrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmot, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

When I first started planning for my trip to Hawaii, I was in a bit of sticker shock at the prices of everything, and so actually booked a cabin for us to stay in while visiting the Volcano National Park. But then while packing and realizing that this would require some different items (a flashlight, shower shoes) I thought, why am I doing this? Yes, it is expensive to stay at the Lodge, but was it worth it? Absolutely. It was a small room, no frills, very basic, but the bed was comfortable and the glow of the volcano was really special. The first night I was so excited I took iPhone pictures of it from the bathroom screen window and sent them out! Everyone was like, what is that red hazy blur? I was just so excited I really was. Such fun! You can get really good pictures of it by going outside, or visiting the Jagger Museum up the road. We ate in the bar, had some pu pu's, and some drink specials of the day (prosecco with some fruit juices, yummy) and all was delicious. We ate at the breakfast buffet both mornings, the made to order omeletes were delicious and there was plenty of other things to choose from. We had a great experience and would highly recommend it, despite the cost! (And don't forget to go to the Visitor Center and get the water they have on tap there for hiking, most delicious water in the world!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
50.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
837 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano House

Property: Volcano House
Address: Crater Rim Dr, PO Box 53, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano House is the only hotel located within Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is perched on the rim of Kilauea's Halemaumau crater. The historic Volcano House Hotel has long captured the imagination of visitors from all over the world with its iconic location, rich cultural legacy, and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Drawing upon a storied history dating back to 1846, Volcano House Hotel is now re-imagined for a new era with updated rooms, a restaurant and lounge serving Pacific Rim fare, and retail shops. Come experience the best Hawaii Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano House Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Volcano Hotel
Volcano House Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing