We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They did a great job with the remodel, but. . . .”
Review of Volcano House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They did a great job with the remodel, but. . . .”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Whole place is much better. Brighter, lots of windows, nice floor coverings, etc.

Restaurants and food MUCH improved. (They actually were selling sandwiches in plastic containers the last time we were there.) Really nice atmosphere, but wait help just a bit rookie.

Rooms nicely redecorated and bathrooms with new fixtures, tile, etc. Here comes the BUT. Really, really noisy. Noisy! No TVs because if there was one turned on within 35 feet you'd hear it. The place is old. Built with wood. Not much they can do about that. Just pray you don't have neighbors. Next door or below or above.

Another BUT is stairs. The least number of stairs one has to carry ones bag is four. If you're on the top of the second wing it's 10. If you're on the second floor of the section nearest the lobby it's about 20. No elevators. There is a chair lift up the 4 stairs, so I guess that's what gets them past the ADA code?

Be prepared to be cool (in the 50's) Rain comes and goes all day long. There were two umbrellas in our room, and two terrycloth robes, so they are thinking ahead for the unsuspecting traveler.

Last BUT is price. Okay, the view of the crater is great. You can eat and watch the glow at night. BUT, $315 a night? Really, really, must want to get those pictures, or you could stay in Volcano for less than $100/night.

It's a unique place to visit and stay. But next time we'll stay at one of the places the nearby town of Volcan.

Room Tip: Get room 33. Second floor on farthest wing. Perfect for shooting pictures with a tri-pod. Rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha Beth,

Mahalo for taking the time to review us and we are happy that you enjoyed the improvements we made to the historical Volcano House. Due to its historical significance, we are unable to install an elevator and the structure of the building is indeed wood and it has been wood since 1941.

The weather in Volcano changes all the time which gives the Volcano area its mystic charms. Volcano House is the only hotel in the National Park so most guests choose to stay with us because they would like to spend more time in the Park without having to drive a whole lot. Our standard guestroom starts at $250 per night but most guests do prefer a crater view room and don't mind paying a little extra. It is the only hotel where you can see an active Volcano in action at the comfort of your guestroom.

We hope your visit to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park was memorable and we look forward to a return visit.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Rudy Fao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    313
    110
    51
    23
See reviews for
250
402
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have lived on the Big Island for 24 years, and have tried just about every restaurant on the island. My husband and I moved to Volcano almost 10 years ago, and have tried every eatery in our small village. We rarely go out to eat in our town, because we have been disappointed so many times in the past. That was until we had one of the most wonderful dinners we have ever had with my parents at the Rim Restaurant in the Volcano House just a few weeks ago. Every dish we ordered was wonderful. The crab cakes, the salads, The lamb, the wine, etc. was top notch. The desserts were amazing as well, we had the coconut cream pie, and the macnut pie, and ate every morsel. The staff was very professional and accommodating. Although the prices are on the high side, it was worth every penny. We will be back for many special occations in the future. We are so happy to finally have a great restaurant down the street from us. Good job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your stellar review on the Rim restaurant. We are glad you had a wonderful dining experience. Our team strive to provide exceptional sincere service to all our guests, thank you for acknowledging their efforts. We will share this review with them tonight.
Our fresh island cuisine proudly uses fresh local ingredients from farmers and ranchers on the Big Island to ensure the best quality. Coupled with the majestic view of the glowing Halema'uma'u crater, the rim is indeed a unique dining experience.

We are very thankful for the overwhelming community support we have received since we reopened in June.

We look forward to entertain your palate again in the near future.

Much Mahalos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Of course, you pay for the view, so make sure you get a volcano-facing room. The hotel is fine, I think I little better than you would expect for a NP lodge. We had to put a towel under the adjoining door as we could hear everything our next-door neighbours were saying. We didn't eat in the restaurant, because of the views expressed here, but breakfast was lovely. It would have been nice to have somewhere in the bathroom to put our toiletry bags.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrington_UKVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We are happy that your stay with us was memorable. The Volcano House is an historical hotel with history dating back to 1846. The sense of place here is eminent and the view of the glorious Halema'uma'u crater from the guestrooms is one of a kind.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the morning view of the crater is amazing. On a clear day you can see the majestic Mauna Loa as well in the restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back shortly in the near future to our unique hotel.

A Hui Hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I loved this. great rooms with a comfortable bed and a very nice location. not too far from my destination (a friend's house) and it wasn't too shabby for a hotel either. staff was friendy and it was a decent price. i have nothing to complain about this magnificent facility! loved it! :) :) :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YOLOMAN69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for reviewing us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Volcano House. It is a very special property indeed with one of the most unique view in the world. Where else can you see an active volcano in action.

Hope you had a great time reconnecting with friends in the Volcano and we look forward to welcoming you back to Volcano House.

A Hui Hou

Rudy Fao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

You are definitely paying for the location and view, not an upscale room. The room was very clean with comfy beds and pillows. The night time view of the active crater is very special. The staff could not be more friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Ate in the lounge, which offers a pupu menu. Ordered four items, all delicious and served piping hot.
The building is typical historic national park lodging. The walls are paper thin, the bathroom small but adequate. There is no TV, fridge, or microwave. You do have a room safe and large closet that serves as a dressing room. Best to keep the doors to closet and bathroom shut so you don't eavesdrop on your neighbors. You are provided lovely terry cloth robes and slippers, a coffee maker and a free bottle of water. Coffee is also provided free to guests downstairs. There's no hook on the bathroom door and no plastic bags provided for dirty clothing. The toiletries were on the cheap side, with no face soap. There's no elevator, but only two floors and the staff will gladly
carry your bags.
The lobby, gift stores and sitting area overlooking the crater are wonderful. Staying here is a splurge that completes the Volcanoes National park experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisrun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review you stay at Volcano House. We are happy that your experience was memorable. We couldn't agree with you more, our best feature is definitely the view of the majestic Halema'uma'u crater and the glow at night is simply breathtaking.

Most of our guests stay with us because we are the only hotel in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and if you are planning to spend a lot of time in the park, this is the perfect place. We literally have trails right by your doorsteps so you can save the driving and have more time to enjoy the park.

Mahalo for acknowledging our team on their Aloha Spirit, we strive to provide exceptional sincere Hawaiian hospitality to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our fresh island cuisine, we proudly support our local community and use local ingredients in most of our dishes.

We look forward to you returning to Volcano House for another adventurous visit.

Aloha!
Rudy Fao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here overnight as I was cramming a lot into two days

Dont stay in room 21 as the view to the crater is obscured by a big tree

There is no room service so if if you plan on a late checkin or to take some pictures in the evening plan ahead. I just find for the money I paid there should have been room service. Also the bar closed at 9.45 sharp - how weird is that and again no room service.

Breakfast is fantastic and the staff are very helpful nothing is too much trouble. Check in was easy and again the staff are helpful and couldnt do more with what they have.

The room was big and comfortable with nice crisp white sheets = although there is no air con if it gets hot - its open the windows and thats it.

The management need to get to grips with some of basics that just add to the value of a stay, its all about the customer service and not about what makes life easy for you.

Room Tip: Dont book room 21 the tree obscures your view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaktam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha and Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Mahalo for acknowledging our team on their sincere hospitality, they sure take pride in taking care of our guests.

We are happy to advise you that we have extended our lounge hours to accommodate our guests and a simple delivery menu will be available shortly as well.

We apologize about the tree blocking the view but being that we are in a National Park, the endemic Ohia tree is part of the unique landscape here in Volcano.

We hope your visit to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park was memorable and we look forward to your return. There are lots to see and visit here on the Big Island so please consider staying longer on your next visit to the most diverse Hawaii island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in September 2013, and it was just amazing. The daytime is wonderful, and the night is just amazing.
To be clear this is, a lodge in national park, and not a luxury resort, but you would not know it from the comfort of the room, or the quality of the food. Rustic? .. no, but definitely classic. (Example ... no elevator .. stairs to the 2nd floor ... and that is it ... just 2 floors !) I understand the hotel has been in place for 100 or so years ... Maybe I am a little corny, I could just feel the history in my bones. There are a few beautiful historic artifacts in the lobby ... loved them .. I hope they add more. Perhaps not the best choice for your entire stay on the Big Island, but definitely a great choice for one or two nights of your trip, while you explore the National Park, and the Hilo side of the island

Room Tip: I had a deluxe crater view, and stood by the window for 30 minutes before going to bed !! (could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent visit to Volcano House. We are glad that we met your expectations, Volcano House is an historical hotel and its historical charms are prominent throughout the hotel. From the bronze Pele's fireplace that warms the lobby to the restored original dark emerald green concrete floors, a visit to Volcano House feels like a visit back in time.

Volcano House is the perfect place to stay while you vist Hawaii Volcanoes National Park as we are are the only hotel in the park with a stunning view of Halema'uma'u crater and hiking trails by your doorsteps. We agree that a minimum of 2 nights stay is recommended as there are just too much to see in the park.

We are happy that your stay was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Volcano House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
50.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano House

Property: Volcano House
Address: Crater Rim Dr, PO Box 53, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano House is the only hotel located within Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is perched on the rim of Kilauea's Halemaumau crater. The historic Volcano House Hotel has long captured the imagination of visitors from all over the world with its iconic location, rich cultural legacy, and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Drawing upon a storied history dating back to 1846, Volcano House Hotel is now re-imagined for a new era with updated rooms, a restaurant and lounge serving Pacific Rim fare, and retail shops. Come experience the best Hawaii Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Ctrip TA so you can book your Volcano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano House Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Volcano Hotel
Volcano House Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing