We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember you are paying for location.....”
Review of Volcano House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Medina, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remember you are paying for location.....”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Before I get into the detailed description, note to all considering booking here that "crater view" may be loosely defined. Technically, the hotel sits on the edge of the main crater, so any room that faces that way would have a "crater view". However, most people are probably hoping for that view that includes the Halemaumumu vent so that they can see it glowing at night or seem the steam rising during the day. Not all of the rooms have a very good view of the vent itself.

We were able to get reservations to stay during the first week they reopened. It appeared that 8 rooms were open (4 on bottom floor, 4 on top floor of 1960's annex building). We were a group of 5 with 3 small children. Some of the rooms have a king bed with a double pull-out sofa. Because of their "regulations" we were not allowed to specifically book that room, nor have 2 adults and 3 small children in that room and were required to book 2 rooms. We were given 2 adjacent top floor rooms with crater views. Ironically, we did receive room with a King bed and a double pull out sofa that would have slept my family just fine despite their "regulations".

One of our rooms faced toward the crater, but due to tree/vegetation growth there was not actually a view of the Halemaumamu vent unless you stood in one corner of the window and angled yourself (bent down) to see under the trees. The other room had the spectacular glowing vent view that you want when booking this property.

The rooms appeared to be cosmetically renovated only. One of our rooms had a non-working toilet. When I complained about this, they said that they could move us. However, the room that had the non-working toilet was our one room that had a spectacular view of the vent and was immediately next door to the other room -- so we chose the inconvenience of staying since we could use the toilet in the other room and we were only there one night. Staff also mentioned that another room that had a non-working shower drain. Since we had two rooms, we still had inconvenient access to a toilet. However, due to the lack of soundproofing in the building, I'm sure that we disturbed those on the floors beneath us when we would have to go back and forth between rooms (the room with the actual crater view was the one with the non-working toilet). Hotel management graciously credited us with half of the cost of the one room for the night.

Note that the bathrooms have openable window "slats" that open into the hallway that seem less than secure and remove any sense of privacy when using the restroom and shower. I didn't try to open them from the hallway side, but it seems as though it would be possible to pry them at least partially open, affording a view of the shower area. You could definitely hear any noise generated in the bathroom when standing in the hallway outside of it.

You are paying for the view/location when staying here, and depending on the room it is worth the price. I would have been disappointed if we only had one room and didn't have an actual view of the vent which is the reason I chose to stay here. When the other non-crater view rooms open up, I don't think that I would choose to stay in one of those as the town of Volcano is extremly close by and it seems that better and less expensive accomodations could be had there.

Room Tip: In the annex building, when looking from the parking lot, the room on the second floor that is the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnash99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    317
    111
    52
    24
See reviews for
260
414
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I have a thing for staying in National Parks in the USA and this one didn't dissapoint!
It has everything we love about other in NP accomodations: location, location, location!
Unfortunately the hotel was not completely open due to renovations but the service and what we were offered was awesome.
We will definately be revisitng and look forward to seeing it open in all its refurbished glory!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison_cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were really happy to find the Volcano House open for reservations for March, and we visited at the end of the opening first week, under the Pardon Our Dust rates. While making reservations, when I asked for an upper floor, the reservations agent refused my request and insisted that there is only one floor. When I arrived, I found out that she didn't know what she was talking about--there were clearly two floors. I was assigned two rooms on the lower floor. Sigh. Due to "regulations", the agent also said that there is a maximum of three people per room. For my group of six, I booked two rooms, but found that I'd been assigned a King and a room with a King and a pullout sofa, a very small double (for skinny people)! Again, it seems like the right hand (central reservations) doesn't know what the left hand (hotel staff) is doing.

The room is basic and smelled very new, sort of a PVC scent and new carpet smell. But it seems that it received a cosmetic lift only. The tiles and sink are lovely, but the windows and doors appear to be from the 1960s, with the front door very heavy and wanting to slam shut by itself and glass slats to the hallway. This means that the soundproofing is lacking, particularly in the bathroom. I was also woken up at 4 am by the upstairs occupant (which is why I asked for an upper floor). However, it was cool to be able to open up our window/door to walk to the edge of the crater right from our room! The built in desk with mirror was quite dated and 1960s.

When I started a bath for my kids, a plug of blonde hair floated up from the drain and it seemed that the tub drained too slowly. It was pretty disgusting. You should be able to get away with a five minute shower before the water starts accumulating over your ankles. As a result, we wore Crocs in the bathtub. The second room with just a shower had the same problem with slow drainage. The water doesn't get very hot either, sort of a warm shower, which is not what you need when you're soaked to the skin returning from a rainy lava hike... It is quite cold in Volcano, relative to the rest of the island.

I complained about the drainage problem immediately, but it was not fixed by the second night.

The continental breakfast was a very nice touch, with some quality cut fruit (papaya, kiwi, blackberry...), but the pastries were pretty awful, dry, or stale. Nice fruit juices though, and I am just happy to have it provided for free. I ate yogurt with granola and fruit. The garbage cans in the room were so tiny that we could not put our plastic breakfast plates inside.

The view is, of course, to die for, and that is why you're staying here anyway! So convenient to be across from the Visitor Centre and in the park. The sofa bed was incredibly comfy and firm and felt like memory foam. The hotel provides an in room safe, robes (but we didn't need them--there was no pool!), and free local calls and long distance to North America. There are no TVs. Now, I never need a TV in my room when I'm travelling (don't have a TV at home either), but my travelling companions LIVE on TV, and we were sharing a car, so they were bored out of their skulls when they stayed in the room.

Hopefully the problems I mentioned can be fixed but not sure how soundproofing can be improved. It is a lovely and very unique location, and I'm sure guests will pay premium dollars to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRollingCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I spent a night in one of the little cabins at the campground owned by volcano house. It was totally bare bones (no outlets, one light), but the bed was really comfortable and toasty. Having access to the Jagger Museum outlook in the dark was magical. The sound and glow of the crater was an experience I'll never forget. You can drive there in about 5 minutes from the campground. The washrooms were spotless and well-stocked. Some people kept wedging the door open (the washrooms/showers are for cabin guests only) probably for friends in the campground. It was a little annoying but I felt absolutely safe. The showers have plenty of hot water which feels especially great being it's quite chilly in the morning up there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agent17Sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Got a reservation for March 22nd. Still under construction but . . . a room with a view of an erupting volcano!

Management told mle rooms are limited until the June 1 Grand Opening. Hope it's true, but I'm getting in on the "pardon our dust rates"

Room Tip: Right now they only have 8 rooms with a volcano view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank SPW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Volcano House's cabins in the National Park. It's a 10 min walk from the Jaggar Museum and the at-night-glowing Kilauea caldera. The cabins have 2 white bunkbeds, white walls, a queen/double bed, nice white comforters and sheets and a light bulb in and out. No electricity or heat though. Cheaper wood (for the firepit) available down the road at the military base/military resort, which has a general store, cafe and bowling alley (!) you can use. Other food in Volcano Village (Thai/Lodge). It was fine for us as we are used to camping and the price and location are great. Bathrooms have free heated showers. Just be aware it ain't the 4 seasons - unless you mean the weather.

Room Tip: This is upscale camping (you live in a lovely little cabin), rather than hotelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BostonWogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
50.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
837 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano House

Property: Volcano House
Address: Crater Rim Dr, PO Box 53, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano House is the only hotel located within Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is perched on the rim of Kilauea's Halemaumau crater. The historic Volcano House Hotel has long captured the imagination of visitors from all over the world with its iconic location, rich cultural legacy, and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Drawing upon a storied history dating back to 1846, Volcano House Hotel is now re-imagined for a new era with updated rooms, a restaurant and lounge serving Pacific Rim fare, and retail shops. Come experience the best Hawaii Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano House Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Volcano Hotel
Volcano House Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing