We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wilderness Cabins”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wilderness Cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2006

If you are active duty or retired military consider staying at Kilauea Military Camp (KMC) in Volcanoes National Park on the Big Island. We spent five days there in September. KMC is located in the Park and is within easy walking distance of Crater Rim Trail and spectacular views of the Kilauea Caldera. The cabins are well maintained. They look like they may have been built in the 1920’s or 30’s, but most have been updated and are clean and comfortable. Our small one-bedroom had a comfortable king-size bed, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee pot, a Jacuzzi, tv, and a fireplace. At 4,000 feet and sometimes drizzly you may want hiking boots and warm clothes (layers work best). The surrounding grounds are attractive and we loved the quiet, vastness of the Camp and the Park. The Park geology and plant life is diverse and beautiful and you can hike to your heart’s content. There are many stops where you can hike or just get out and enjoy the scenery on the drive down Chain of Craters road to the ocean. TAKE WATER, whenever you head out and especially if you go to view the steam plume entering the ocean. We enjoyed excursions to several botanical gardens on the west side of the Island but we loved returning to the Camp and leaving the hustle of Hilo behind. The Camp has a cafeteria, bowling alley, a kid’s video-type game area, a small store, theater, church, playground, laundromat, and more. They also offer excursions around the Island at a reasonable price, and if you time it right, they have excellent live entertainment at the theater. If you’re driving to KMC, get a few groceries at the Safeway in Hilo. A Starbucks is tucked away behind and west of the Safeway. KMC did not furnish any kitchen items, so we purchased a few plastic items in the Camp store and scrambled our morning eggs in the microwave. We also ate at the cafeteria. You can purchase the all-you-can-eat buffet or pay for items ala carte. Some of the public indoor areas looked worn but they are slowly working to improve that too. We had lunch at a nice restaurant (just past the post office and connected to a small store) in Volcano Village and treated ourselves to a fine dinner at the Kilauea Lodge also in Volcano Village--delicious and great ambiance. On the highway to Hilo, Akatsuka Orchid Store is worth a stroll and has a gift shop with reasonable prices. If you only visit one botanical garden see the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden. If you go to World Botanical Garden, stroll through the garden behind the admissions building before you visit Uamauma Falls. If you go to Nani Mau gardens, don’t miss the orchids and check out their gift shop before you leave. Take a box lunch to Lili’uokalani Gardens in downtown Hilo. And, you must get your toes in the sand at Punalu’u Black Sand Beach.

  • Liked — They were well maintained and beautifully situated in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
  • Disliked — There were no pots, pans, utensils, plates in the cabin.
  • Tips/Secrets — You can't see it all. Plan ahead to see what is most important to you. Dress appropriately--it gets cool at 4,000 feet.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Judith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    103
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
90
90
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2006

We stayed in Cabin 15 and were very happy with KMC! This was our first trip and definitely won't be our last. KMC is military only and prices are excellent - we paid around $75 per night (rates are based on rank) for a one bedroom cabin with living room (no jacuzzi) - what a deal! Cabin had two double beds plus a sleeper sofa so can fit 6. There were just the two of us, so a King bed would have been nice but we weren't complaining! Beautiful stained glass windows in the bedroom of all the cabins - furniture is basic but nice. We didn't use the fireplace cuz the heater was a little warm already (heaters are "old school" and you can't choose the exact temperature - you have to guess!) Fridge is huge, and rooms also have microwaves. Cabin comes with an umbrella to use and two flashlights which is a nice touch if you forgot your own from home.

The location of KMC is great for exploring the Hilo side of the island - you can get to Mauna Loa, the Black Sand Beach, or South Point within an hour. We did a few of the easier hikes at the volcano and it was awesome! Definitely do the hike out to view the lava at the bottom, even if the rangers say you'll see very little, cuz you never know...

The only complaint we had was they were repaving part of the road right next to our cabin and the tractor beeped everytime it backed up for most of the day (it was rainy one afternoon so we spent a lot of time inside that day) - - the place was pretty empty at the time, and granted, we could have switched cabins, but it wasn't worth it to repack the truck to move. Overall, a minor complaint and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jenlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2005

We stayed in cabin 14 and loved it!! It was so clean and more spacious than we imagined. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the volcano. We highly recommend staying here. Make sure you take in as many hikes as possible. We really enjoyed the Lava tube, devestation trail and of course the lava flow at the ocean. We had children ages 7 and 6 with us and they did great. We stayed on the easy to moderate hikes. I would stop in town at the Wal-mart and pick up some water and snacks. The convenience store at the KMC was quite pricey. The Refrigerator is about double the size of one at a hotel. Loved the KMC and the Big Island!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Aloha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2005

My wife and I have stayed at KMC twice before and will be going back
for #4 this September/2005. It is a super place and ideal to travel
thru out the Big Island!!
Be sure to take a sweatshirt/jacket for evenings......it gets crispy!!!

  • Stayed September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rowland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2004

What a great place to rest and relax. Our cottage was clean and spacious and the jacuzzi was the perfect way to end the day.
We purchased the Wild Ginger Package and were treated to interesting and informative tours, and delicious meals. We made use of the general store to purchase souveniers and sundrie items. Staying in the camp was peaceful and convenient. A car is not necessary, but it came in handy to drive to the view the lava flow at night.
KMC provides a wonderful mountain vacation at a very affordable price.

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2004

My husband and I recently vacationed in Hawaii. We spent 3 days on the big island and stayed at KMC. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. Worth noting, KMC is not the Ritz Carlton...the rooms are basic and decorating is minimal...but is more that adequate. The cabin did offer plenty of room for the two of us. The facility offered starter logs on the mantle for the chilly nights. We used the fireplace at night and it was wonderful. We were also pleased to find out that KMC offers a cafeteria that serves 3 meals a day. The food was pretty good and the prices are a welcome sight. We were able to enjoy our time at the Volcano National Park because we didn't have to worry about the prices of each item we wanted to purchase. KMC is a nice all round place to stay during your visit to the big island.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2004

We stayed 3 nights at the KMCmilitary camp at the Volcano National Park. It was a very convenient location for exporing the park. It is right inside the park and you can walk across the street and walk the trails through the steam vents. the Volcano House is the only other hotel in the park and the prices are much higher. the steam vents were an incredible sight. You are surrounded by steam and you can feel the heat. We signed up for the Ginger Package which is a fantastic deal. The prices were unbelievable! We enjoyed the tours in first class big busses. We couldn't get over how dark it got there at night. The stars were beautiful and it was very quiet and peaceful. the weather is very changeable on that side of the Island since it's a rainforest. It never rained hard on us but there was light rain frequently. Suggest you wear layers, as it's warm at the bottom and cool at the top of the volcano. We tought the volcano was very fasinating. We stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage facing the trails. the cottages were very clean and attractive for a military location and considering the prices we paid. The Ginger package included a majority of our meals in a cafeteria. The food was average but adequate for the price. The people were all very friendly. Many people we talked to said they came back and we feel we'd like to go back again. the volcano wasn't erupting while we were there but it was still interesting. It would be a great place for a family reunion but you may need to be sponsored by a military person. There were a lot of school groups there when we were there. Aloha!

Helpful?
20 Thank beachlady_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing