We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but renovations needed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, but renovations needed”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed for five nights in a one bedroom cabin in February. The location can't be beat; you walk across the road and you are on the caldera rim trail, one mile to the left is the Visitors Center and one mile to the right is the Jaggar Museum. We spent one day walking the trail to both of these locations and learning more about volcanoes; it was great to stay right in the Volcano National Park. Two of the nights we got to see the glow from the crater; other nights it was too foggy. It was a fascinating experience.

However, the accommodations need improvement. Thankfully there was an extra set of sheets in the closet, so I used one of them as a slipcover for the sofa as I wouldn't have wanted to sit on it otherwise. There was also a foul smell, like the tile around the toilet had absorbed, well, you know, over a long period of time. We went to the store on site there and bought Pinesol so we could pour some on the tile and into the garbage cans to try to override the smell. The carpet was very dirty and stained. The formica around the sink was chipped. The tub was stained. Overall, in serious need of renovation. Thankfully the bedding was clean.

We ate at the cafeteria only twice, and didn't want to eat there any more. We bought milk and cereal to eat breakfast in the cabin. We were glad there was a store on site where we could buy food. We ate at the Volcano House right across the road from the Visitors Center a couple of times, and it was delicious, although pricey.

We had scheduled the three different tours to go on before we got there, but when we arrived we were told that one of them, the Circle Island tour, had been cancelled because one of their drivers wasn't available. This was very disappointing to us as we hadn't rented a car and were counting on the tours to see the things they offered. We were figuring we'd have to take the shuttle down to the airport one morning and rent a car and try to do the circle island tour on our own, but then they arranged an outside tour guy to do this tour for us, and two other couples also joined in, so we were glad they did this. The best tour guide we had was Jerry, who took us on the Hilo and Beyond tour; he was very informative and congenial. We would have liked to have him for all three tours.

I'm glad we experienced the KMC and took the tours for our first visit, but if we ever go back to the Big Island again, I would check into getting a good B&B in Volcano and rent a car and do our own touring.

Room Tip: Ask if they have fully renovated any of them recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blynnsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    105
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
93
91
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Not every one can stay here......you have to be active/retired military or associated with DOD. This is not a Hyatt or Westin......but you stay in quaint, clean cottages that do the job. We ended a 3 week trip to multiple islands here, to take in Volcano National Park, and what a perfect location. The observatory is only a mile or so away. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage that included a living room, one bathroom and a small area with sink, microwave and coffee maker. Cable TV is included with all the channels you come to expect. There is a cafeteria style place to eat on sight with good simple food at a reasonable price. The Volcano House hotel is just down the street and offers places to eat as well. If you qualify for this place I would recommend it....
Staff was great as well....service with a smile!

Room Tip: This is a nice place comfortable and clean in a great location. You are staying where most others h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We came here with a group of veterans and were very pleased with the ease of check in. We had a one bedroom cottage and were pleasantly surprised. The cottage looked-aged from the outside, but once inside, we were pleasantly surprised. There was a flat screen tv in the front room, along with fireplace, microwave and small refrigerator, which was adequate for our needs. There is also a dining hall, bar, general store, fitness center and laundromat nearby. Staff was quite friendly, and took care of our needs. We were only a short distance from the crater rim and were quite impressed.
All in all it was a very good experience and well worth the money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with a family of 4 (two teens). The location and convenience of staying in the National Volcano Park for an affordable price are the best features of the KMC Lodge. The cottages were clean and there was plenty of room for 4 people. All of the staff were friendly and willing to help. Check in and check out were a breeze. The double beds are small and need to be replaced but that is the only negative thing about KMC. (Note: my teen sons are over 6'1" so one had the bed while the other slept on the sleeper sofa). The cottage has a small microwave and refrigerator. The bowling alley grill was opened until 9:30PM for those arriving late. We did not eat at the dining hall and we did not use the other facilities except the general store which was centrally located. The food at the bowling alley was just that- short order cook/bowling alley food- nothing to write home about but it was convenient, affordable and it filled us up after a late check in and traveling all day. The drive in to town to eat dinner or to go to the grocery store is about 25 minutes. Overall, we would stay again at KMC if we came back to the Volcano Park. Be sure to bring warm clothes. The weather was surprisingly cold!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We only had one night here but were very impressed by the accommodation. Definitely not a fancy resort but great location and much cheaper than the other options in the area
We had a little one bedroom cottage to ourselves with a living room with fireplace, (small) TV, bar fridge and bathroom. Near by was a canteen and cafeteria with reasonable prices. There was also a coin laundry available and LOTS of people seemed to be enjoying the bowling alley on the Saturday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. It was very comfortable although the windows rattled when the furnace turned out.....yes it gets chilly in January. Our "apartment" had a comfortable LR with fireplace, very large bath (we spurgled for the jetted tub ;-) and large bedroom wtih King bed. It was very quiet in our section. The room was very clean and there were umbrellas for the occasional rain. We also ate at the Cafe for every breakfast and dinner as it was too convenient and reasonably priced to drive to another place. Driving was very easy as well as starting out on the Rim Trail walk from our front door. If you are eligible , you should stay here.

Room Tip: The apartments are very nice and the jetted tub is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetScottB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and great service.
1) Pls. Improve the wifi connection in Cabins
2) Pls. Provide water dispenser in Lobby area
3)Pls.add more educational talks and working together with the visitor center with their activities
We attended the talk "Up Front" in Visitor center 7pm 2/11/14 Tuesday night but the Front desk or any of the information center in KMC knows about this except Mr.Gerry our tour guide for the Volcano crater who mentioned about this. I think this is a good learning experience, sharing KMC and Visitor Center's guest history,pictures, updates working to improve the guest in KMC,sponsors and learning of KMC staff about KMC.
4) Pls. Housekeeping or whoever check on the lawn or a personnel. The Towel in the Crater Rim Cafeteria have been there for Four days and no one pick it up or clean it, what is that for? Cleaniliness, neat, tidy environment is impt.
5) Great Tourguide and new found friend Mr. Gerry, a local, Hawaiian, who knows how he is talking about, accomodating... Pls....more people like him.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Dubhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing