We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow... and we saw an eruption”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Certificate of Excellence
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow... and we saw an eruption”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Almost walking distance to the crater rim.
Day trips to a good coffee plantation and to the Black Sand Beach are easy.
Easy to sit and relax with the family.
Military and DoD only.
The Friday evening family luau was great fun. It was like being a part of a backyard family luau, rather than a commercial venture. The matriarch got my wife and girls up front dancing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stewfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    103
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
91
90
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I are staying here during our first visit to the island. Staff here is very helpful. We had signed up for all three of their day tours. One of them was cancelled because of driver unavailability; however, they found an alternative for us.
Cabins are basic, but comfortable. Towels are soft. Umbrellas and flashlights are supplied in each cabin.
Cafeteria food is ok.
Excellent value overall.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CPThurber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

There are two hotels located close to the Kilauea Volcano and the Jagger Museum. This is the closer one, only 1.5 mile away. It will take you only 30 minutes to drive from this hotel all the way to the end of the Crater Road. You cannot find a better located hotel in the volcano national park.

The rooms are in well equipped cabin with jacuzzi bath tub and a living room. The facilites include a cafeteria, Starbuck, well stocked shopette/ mini-mart, bowling alley, gym and a bar. You can also sign up for day tours of the Park and Hilo. There are only two restaurants in the park. One is located here, the other in the other hotel. Unless you want to drive half an hour into Hilo to dine, it is at KMC or the other one. They have a decent menu at good prices.

One issue at the hotel is the internet connectivity. It goes in and out and Apple devices have issue connecting

Other than than that, this is a fabulous park hotel for the family. I saw families spending their Christmas vacation there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This facility is an aging military camp for military and military retirees. Amenities are bare bones and furniture is old, but fir the price it is a good value to be right in the Volcanoes Park. Do no expect a four star hotel and you will not be disappointed. Our unit does have TV with cable and fireplace and there is cafeteria available on site.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navybng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Being a retired military spouse, I was able to enjoy staying at KMC with my best friend and her husband. Since one pays according to rank, we stayed in a cottage with ensuite bedrooms-the main bedroom has a TV, a fully-equipped kitchen, a living room with a fireplace and TV. It's a throwback to the 50's but clean and functional. Above all, the price is right and affordable compared to the rest of the Big Island hotel rates. The USPS is right there in the camp and very convenient for shipping souvenirs back home. The camp is well-kept, has a small gasoline station, an entertainment/recreation center, a cafe/restaurant-foods/prices are decent, a convenience store and best of all, it's INSIDE the park and just 22 miles to/from Hilo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GhenTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a camp operated for military-active and retired. The cabins are pretty old and the amenities are bare bones. However, we stayed inside the Volcanoes Park for under $100 so you can't beat that. You can wake up with the sun and have the entire park to yourselves until the rest of the tourists start showing up--I noticed around 9am.They also have a General Store where you can stock up on any supplies you might need and a Café that has a great value for breakfast. My wife and I had omelets with all the usual sides (hashbrowns, toast, and coffee) for about $14. They book fast, especially on weekends. If you keep realistic expectations, this place is an awesome value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here in a 2 bedroom with full kitchen cottage for 7 nights. I could have gotten a far better price on a condo, however I couldn't beat the unique vacation right off of Crater Rim drive in the Volcanos National Park. We could walk about 5 minutes from our cottage, cross the road and we were at the crater rim with a really scenic trail around the crater. We found no one on the trail in the early morning and the trail was surreal with steam rising from the cracks and holes along the trail. Also the sunset was awesome from scenic viewpoints on the trail as you walk towards the Jagger Museum, and the bonus was we had it all to ourselves! Staying in the park made it easy to head to the Thurston Lava tube in the morning and once again we had the whole thing to ourselves!
Our cottage was kept very clean and our housekeeper, Jeogy brought us some fresh papaya from her farm which we had for breakfast everyday!
The history of the Kilauea Military Camp is also unique. It served briefly as a Japanese internment camp and a prisoner-of-war camp during World War II. Definitely an interesting place to just walk around!
One other bonus to staying on this side of the island, was that we were less than one hour's drive to one of my very favorite spots on Earth, the Ahalanui thermal pool! The pool is heated by underground volcanic sources and refreshed by ocean water as the waves crash over the wall near the pond! It is like a giant jacuzzi, especially if the waves are big!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tammlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing