We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average cottages but comfy enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average cottages but comfy enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I don't think our rooms had air conditioners. If they did, none of them worked. It'd be nice to have that option when staying anywhere to accomodate people w/ allergies and sensitivity to open windows overnight, especially with the occasional smell of sulpur from the winds. There were stains on the sleeper sofa. There were no soaps/shampoos provided in bathroom. ( I suppose the maids forgot it b/c the the cottage next to us was also rented by family of mine and they had some. In fact their cottage did actually appear to be a little nicer or better maintained) Beds were comfortable, except the pillows were lousy. Very mushy & small. We were in a 3-BR cottage. There was a mini fridge & fireplace which I'm sure would be great when the weather gets cooler. The prices at the restaurant were fairly reasonable for average food/meals, the convenience store was a nice bonus and the lounge really appeared to be hopping for the 2 nights we stayed over the weekend. They even have $2 bowling at the arcade center on Sunday evenings. All in All, we had a great time visiting here. The crater is so close at the museum right up the road. The trails around the crater rim were nice to walk, although there's a good chance you will be walking in the rain in that area. This area is one of the wettest places in America so be prepared - maybe a poncho would be a good idea. The rooms provide flashlights and umbrellas which is great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    102
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
89
90
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We are thankful that we had the opportunity to stay at KMC, as it afforded us the chance to see Kilauea's red glow at night and enjoy some hiking in the early morning hours. The 2 bedroom / 1 bath cabin we stayed in did not have a full kitchen, but did provide a microwave, coffee machine and small fridge, which was all we needed for a 1-night stay. The furnishings are older but well maintained, and kind of reminded me of staying at my grandparents house - dated, but clean and comfortable. We had one double bed and 2 twins which was perfect for our family of 4. When you go, pay attention to the cabin windows - each cabin has its own stained-glass window design, some more ornate than others, which is quite pretty to view at night. Our stay was so short we did not take advantage of the various activities and amenities (general store, restaurant, etc.), but were pleased to find a gas station. The location is hard to beat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Came for a family reunion, and was not immediately taken with the place. We ended up very pleased with the accommodations - we had a three-bedroom cabin for five people, and it was nice. It was also nice that there was a general store, gas station, activities lounge, etc. all close by. Plus, you can walk around areas on Volcanoes National Park. I'd definitely recommend to military families or those who can be sponsored by military personnel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The cabins and rooms at KMC are great. It is quiet, clean, and safe. Right up the street from the observatory where lava is flowing, it is the perfect location. There is a little shop to buy basics. Recommend getting food from Hilo and bringing with you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I stayed here with our 11 and 12 year old sons and LOVED it. Everything you need is there and the crater is literally right across the street. The recreation center was a hit with the boys. They have five bowling lanes, a 13 seat movie theater, pool, ping pong and tennis, arcade games and burgers. The staff at the recreation center was quite liberal with the coupons for free 30 minute Internet sessions too, if you ask.

The cabins are modern and very clean. They have a television, refrigerator, microwave, sleeper sofa, plus complimentary flash lights and umbrellas in the cabin. We had no complaints with KMC!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I work within the travel industry and spent quite a bit of time researching the Big island in order to make a decision as to where to stay. We were island hoping so the 5 days we were spending on the big island were for the sole purpose of hiking, as were also "doing the resort thing" on another island. We were traveling with our adult children, who at first glance were very disappointed with the property (somehow they were expecting more palm trees & beaches). It ended up to be perfect as we had plenty of room to spread out so that we could all have some down time each day. It is certainly not a fancy place but very comfortable and our gal from housekeeping was awesome and very accommodating. The front desk staff was most helpful and gave us some great travel tips too. The food has a little to be desired, especially after you just spent a few days on a resort so we ended up picking up things to have for breakfast in the cabin but we did eat in the cafeteria twice and it was fine. It seemed like many tour groups have some sort of relationship with the camp as there were often tour vans there at meal time but it was a big place and they moved people in and out quickly. It was sort of a pain to drive so far to different locations but interesting that we met many people in the course of our travels who basically said that no matter where you stay on the island, you have to drive long distances in order to see everything. We talked about splitting our time between two places but decided it was a hassle to move and the price of this place couldn't be beat...I'm glad we just stayed put!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This visit was a time of nostalgia for my husband, who came here with his parents as a child. We now brought our daughter and her family. Not much has changed, except, as my husband said, the streets are now paved with asphalt. Still, it is a great place to stay, especially on the side of a volcano.

We went to the visitor center first, watched a movie there on the park, and then went to check-in. The process was easy and the staff very pleasant. They gave us a map of the facility, which was a great help in finding our cabin. Our accommodations were terrific, albeit not fancy. There were 6 of us, and we had 4 bedrooms, two baths, and a living room with fireplace. There were umbrellas for us in the closet, and because it was drizzly out, they came in handy.

As others have reported, there are all sorts of "extras" at the camp, e.g., basketball court, tennis court, gas station, baseball field, laundromat, theater, chapel, post office, etc. We did not use any of them, for we had only one night there. We did go into the PX, which had a variety of items at what we thought were steep prices. (We had bought nice flip flops at Costco 3 days before in Kailua Kona, and the price there was 19.95. They were $30+ at the PX.) Food items were more reasonably priced. We ate at the mess hall, and that was nice simple fare. The all inclusive (salad bar, drink, ice cream) short ribs cost $15.95, the teriyaki chicken (yummy) $12.95, the NY steak (which was not great) $21.95. The all inclusive buffet cost $10.50, the all inclusive children's dinner was $7.50, and the children's bbq chicken was $1.50. Should you like to eat elsewhere, the Volcano House is down the road. Because we had no reservations, we would have waited over 1 1/2 hours, so we chose to eat at the camp.

There is an entrance to a hiking path right across the street from the flagpole, and my husband and I chose to hike the crater rim along this path, which our daughter and her family chose a more strenuous hike along the rim and into the crater, We went to the Jaggar museum to see the volcano caldera at night, a wonderful experience. We drove down the road to the ocean and saw the Pu'u Loa petroglyphs, the Holei sea arch, and the area where the lava flows into the ocean. Unfortunately you can't get close to that, but the drive down through the lava fields is amazing. We stopped at the Thurston lava tube, and because it was getting late, we were the only ones in it. So cool.....

Would I stay at KMC again? Absolutely....and I hope that a fifth generation will visit it in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schneewitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
49.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing