We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay for Military Veterans”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay for Military Veterans”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful location this lodging facility is located. The rooms were clean, neat, spacious, and comfortable. Located within the Hawai'i Valcanoes National Park, there is an abundance of hiking trails in order to view the Kilauea Caldera Valcanoes and only one mile down from Jaggar Museum which over looks the active lava flowing portion of the Valcanoe.

This place also has a nice cafe, PX, exercise room. Tennis court, and, more than liking a lot of other amenities that I didn't get a chance to see.

A great value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    104
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
91
90
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location just minutes drive from the volcano observation area. Perfect for visiting the glowing volcano at night. Weather cloudy and chilly, spots of rain very commonplace up here. Cottages are a bit tatty and there seem to be a lot of locals using the facilities, not convinced that they were all serving or ex military or DoD employees...... Basic and functional, this place does what it says on the tin. To be honest if you have a car and hit the park early you can easily see everything in a day and don't really need to stay over unless you want to visit the volcano at night. Be advised you can't hike across the main crater anymore and the Crater Rim road is mostly closed due to the volcanic gas coming from the volcano. In a nutshell the KMC accommodation is okay, the mess hall is worth giving a miss and the bar was full of locals. If you don't expect too much you'll not be disappointed, good for a large group. Probably wouldn't stay here again though.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Williams691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our large family group (14 people) made the trek over from Kona for a weekend at Volcano National Park. We'd reserved a 6-bedroom house that had plenty of room for all of us, including a huge kitchen where we could all sit down for meals! I think KMC is a great choice for families - kids who are tired of the various hiking and volcano viewing activities have plenty to keep them busy on the KMC property - a playground, rec/games room, bowling alley, tennis, bike rentals, and lots of well-manicured lawns to careen around on. The cottages aren't fancy but have a very appealing old-style vibe; think of it more like camping than staying at a resort or a hotel - but super-deluxe camping! We took a tour of many of the cottages, which are gradually being renovated to include better kitchens, jetted tubs, and lots of slate tiles. Loved all the stained glass and lava rock construction. The proximity to all the park sites is great, and the camp is very quiet at night, making for a sweet sleep.

It's definitely a bit different - and if you have a military connection and plan to explore the volcano for a couple of days with kids, I think you'll find this a great option. I'd plan to bring food to prepare in the cottage kitchen, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahineokawaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

First the good. Check in was easy and simple. We rented a cottage. When we got to the room we were pleasently surprised at the size. It was huge for a one bedroom. The bedroom was big and the bed was actually comfortable considering it looked like something out of "The Shining". The bathroom was every bit as big as the bedroom. The location of KMC is within the Volcanoe National Park so you cannot go wrong with getting access to the main thing you came to the big island to see. It's $10 to get through the gate but the pass is good for 7 days. There is a general store, cafe (actually a cafeteria), small bowling alley, gas station, lounge, all within a short distance. Now the downside. The room was well used, which is not a problem, but the maintenance and cleanliness left a lot to be desired. There is a microwave and small fridge ... which sounds like it's getting ready for take off when the cooling cycle starts. The 20" TV is old ... like 1980s old and no HD TV is available. That's not a problem unless you wanted to see that one special program on TV and you know an HD broadcast on an analog TV squashes the picture. We had to move the seats much, much closer to see our show and it was badly distorted. Check out was a mess. We held the room with a one night deposit (we stayed two nights), thirty days before our stay. However, my wife was charged for two days on her debit when we checked out. Upon questioning our bill the games were one. The lady at the front desk was challenged by simple math and after about 20 minutes, an accountant (another KMC patron) trying to help the desk lady, and a long line forming I gave and paid with a credit card. When we returned home and checked our bank on line we had been charged for a weeks worth of stay on two separate cards. The front desk manager is working with us to fix the situation. However, my advice to anyone checking in is to use only your credit card so you can challenge bad charges later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My ONLY regret is that I didn't stay longer! Unfortunately, my trip only allowed me to stay here for one night, but I THOROUGHLY enjoyed my stay here!

Arriving at the site was a bit worrisome, as I arrived late in the evening. It was VERY DARK outside, and they were re-paving the road, so there were no markers to delineate the lanes. At any rate, once I arrived the reception was WONDERFUL! I was originally booked to stay in one of the apartments; however, at the recommendation of the receptionist, I upgraded to a cottage (which I am SOOO happy that I did).

I would HIGHLY recommend military personnel planning to visit the Volcano National Park to stay here; it's TOTALLY WORTH IT! (Also, military personnel can sponsor non-military personnel. So, if you're not in the military then speak to or make some military friends!)

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage! It's WORTH IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thurman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The military camp is a great piece of property if you are looking for a place right in the national park and qualify for the stay. We reserved a one bedroom cottage and a 3 bedroom cottage for our family. It was rustic, but nice. The camp store was handy, no more expensive than traveling to Hilo. Our one bedroom studio had a microwave and refrig., the 3 bdrm had full kitchen although the stove did not operate well at all. Beds were not the best in comfort, but ok. Meals in the dining hall are average priced, good food, not fancy. Housekeeping came in daily and took care of the rooms and did an excellent job. We loved being in the park and so close to the visitor center, viewing of the crater and hiking. In late May and early June we had rain each day but clearing later. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank coloradofcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Ct
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

What could be better than staying right in the middle of one of the great wonders of the Pacific; an active volcano. Accommodations range from the more rustic to quite updated cabins. We have stayed in both. The three bedroom cottage that we had a few years ago had a jetted tub, full kitchen with corian counters, etc. Our most recent two bedroom had a counter, dorm size fridge, coffee maker and microwave. It was more than adequate for the two nights that we spent and for $116 per night, no tax, it was a bargain. The meals at the dining hall are far from gourmet but they are adequate. There are limited dining choices in and around VNP so this one is certainly welcomed. The beds aren't the most comfortable but everything is clean and housekeeping cleans daily. It is wonderful to be at 4000 ft on Hawaii and sleep with the windows open. Be prepared to close them however, it gets quite chilly at night. Lots to see and do in Volcano National Park and KMC is the best place to do it from.

Room Tip: Request a deluxe room/cabin. There is a big difference in accommodations if that is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DawnCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing