We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hike of Contrasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilauea Iki Trail

Kilauea Iki Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moderate 4 mile hike into a an old volcanic crater.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Hike of Contrasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

You hike through a forest down to the crater floor. You can walk up to the steam vents which are very hot but not smelly. This was one of our more enjoyable hikes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    163
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's #1 For a Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Two guidebooks and TripAdvisor all agreed this was the best hike on the island, and we have to agree! Rigorous but not strenuous. There were lots of opportunities to veer off to other trails--we ended up at the Thurston Lava Tube and Visitor's Center. Great photo opportunities and vistas. Eerie walk over the crater floor where magma is still boiling 300ft below your shoes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cwinterb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fascinating family hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This trail is a wonderful combination of jungle rain forest and an open air hike bisecting the crater floor of Kilauea Iki ('little Kilauea'). We've done this trail every visit to the Big Island, with our kids when they were little, and now when they're adults (they insist and we're more than happy to comply). It's a fascinating combination of Hawaiian rain forest along the crater rim, and then across the lava strewn (and occasional steam vented) crater floor. Wear good shoes, bring lots of water, wear sunscreen and hats, and be prepared for a 2- to 3-hour experience - you won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betty08Vancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We loved this hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have been to HVNP several times but had not done any of the longer hikes; after reading the Tripadvisor reviews we decided the Kilauea Iki Trail sounded perfect...we went to the Kilauea Visitor's Center and spoke to a ranger to check the Volcanic Fume levels and makes sure it was safe to hike that area on that day...and to talk about any precautions we should take in case the wind shifted the Volcanic Fumes our direction - I highly recommend doing this...On Crater Rim Drive we parked at the Kilauea Iki Trail parking lot and accessed the trailhead; we went counterclockwise as recommended by most of the reviews on all the websites we looked at (I also recommend this counter-clockwise route -- I think the "step area" would be very difficult to hike back up as they are a little too far apart for me). the hike was great - we went on an overcast day and for us the weather was perfect - if it had been sunny we might not have enjoyed it quite as much - it would have been too hot for us.

We started out through jungle/forest area on a nice path, then climbed in elevation on the ridge, then down for quite awhile with big "steps" down from rocky trail areas, across the crater floor (which is still warm and has steam vents), and then back up a forested switch back area, then walked past Thurston Lava Tube parking lot on a path back to the Kilauea Iki Trail parking lot. The total hike is a 4 mile loop. We really enjoyed this hike - it had a lot of different terrain; we will probably do this hike every year we come to Hawaii - I would rate it a 5 - and give it moderate activity level - that would move to very difficult/dangerous if it was muddy/slippery.
-------------
Please remember this is not Disneyland - read the safety information at the Visitor Center or on the internet - we saw tourists who were not dressed properly, who were walking in areas that appeared dangerous, who did not have proper shoes on, who did not have any water, who did not have anything other then their persons, etc. you are outside in an area with an active volcano where weather/and wind can change abruptly. This is not a hike for flip flops...bring a jacket you might get rained/poured on, bring water, bring sunblock, come prepared, stay on the marked path, etc. - I would not do this hike without a backpack and proper gear and for me that means...lots of water, tennis shoe w/ good tread or hiking boots, hat, sunblock, small first aid kit, snacks, something to wet and cover my mouth/nose/eyes if the wind changes and the Volcanic Fumes comes towards us (a thin tank top will do), a lightweight jacket or hoodie, a flashlight, etc.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Aurora_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun adventure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We initially didn't plan to hike the crater, but after listening to the geology talk by the ranger at the visitor center, we were convinced, and it was well worth it. The hike was easy - the first half is pretty shaded through the rainforest and it was just amazing seeing all the different flora along the trail. The second half went right through the crater which was such a cool experience - when else would you get to walk through history like that?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rkarlalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Iki Trail also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Iki Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing