We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!!”
Review of Kilauea Iki Trail

Kilauea Iki Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
More Info
$217.71*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Kona
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Triple Crater Hawaii Volcano Hiking Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moderate 4 mile hike into a an old volcanic crater.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Read about this walk in our lonely planet guide and decided to give it a go. It is a self-guided walk that takes you down in to the old crater and back up to the rim again. The scenery along the way is absolutely fantastic - from lush tropical rainforest along the edges to black dry rock through the crater (some of it still steaming through the cracks). Just beautiful! My parter and I are quite fast paced and of average-good fitness. We breezed through quite quickly and found the walk easy. The decent upwards was the most tiring, but still very gradual and easy to do.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    173
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An absolute must-do in Volcanoes National Park!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The entire hike is around 4 miles, but probably very doable for most fitness levels, provided you don’t mind climbing up and down some rock stairs. I think we spent around 2.5 hours there, but we stopped a good bit for pictures and exploration off the trail. Good shoes are a must! Sunscreen and water are essential, too. It was wild—we started in the rainforest and ended up in what seemed to be a barren crater, which upon closer inspection was belching steam (you could feel the heat and smell the sulfur), with a considerable amount of plant life (succulent ferns and others). Take your time to marvel at the olivine and look for Pele’s hair twinkling in the sunlight. Don’t miss out on this incredible experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Best Walk in the Park”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This walk is definitely the highlight of any stay in the park now that it is not possible to see the lava flow into the sea. We went in January. The first day was foggy and the crater was completely filled with the mist. Luckily the second day was clear and we could see completely across the crater and completed the circular walk in a couple of hours. The trail notes are very helpful and well worth taking so that you understand what you are seeing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Granada100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like an alien landscape- amazing!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Heard good things about this trail, so we put it on our list. We went round trip starting from the trailhead by the Kilauea Iki overlook (closest to the visitors center) and hiked along the north rim of the crater counterclockwise, walking back east across the base of the crater. Lush rainforest on the rim transitions into a rocky, barren landscape at the base with steam still shooting out of cracks in the ground. Very very cool experience. Note there is NO shelter in the crater, so be prepared for either rain or baking sun while you're down there. (It was just overcast for us, so we didn't have either issue.) Switchbacks take you out of the crater, back through rainforest, dumping you out at the parking lot across from the Thurston lava tube. We chose to take a spin through there, and then afterwards continued on the Kilauea Iki trail through the rainforest, connecting back to the original trailhead/overlook. Stopping often for pictures and general enjoyment of the scenery, we spent 3 hours to make the whole trip. Moderate difficulty, but we had no problems, even with one of us having a torn labrum! Very unique experience, and a must do while at the park.

Helpful?
1 Thank SFJF8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's like walking on another world”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My favourite trail in Volcanoes National Park! You start in a lush forest and then descend into the crater. Make sure to take the time to enjoy the almost alien landscape. I joked that a gorn might be behind a pile of lava rocks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Iki Trail also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Iki Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing