We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pics don't do it justice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilauea Iki Trail

Kilauea Iki Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moderate 4 mile hike into a an old volcanic crater.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“pics don't do it justice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Looking at pics i dont get what's so great about this place. You need to be physically present to appreciate the magnitude of the desolate, alieness of the crater.

Hike was relatively easy, my husband w/ a baby strap to him, me w/ slippers (not intentionally), and in-laws in their late 50's all did it w/o much difficulties. Going counterclockwise from Thurston Lava tube, beginning was around the rim, all flat, with sharp decent into the crater w/ tons of steps. inside crater is all flat, followed by switch backs back up to the parking lot, this part can feel a little long.

We got rained on before we hit the crater floor and for most of rest of the hike. It got decently cold. So definitely bring good rain gear. We did not drink much water because of the cold/rain. Though I could imagine how hot it can get at the bottom, surrounded by black lava.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilia_KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    163
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great trail, saw only a few other people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This trail is a must-do. It's beautiful, and since none of the tour buses use this trail, it's way more peaceful. I recommend parking at the Thurston lava tubes, and if you don't see any tour buses, do that first. Then hike the trail counter-clockwise. Or if you'd rather not hike the whole trail, hike it clockwise, turning around once you've seen the steam vents on the crater floor. The whole hike took us an hour and a half, and we aren't so in shape. The stark contrast between the gorgeous rain forest and the crater floor is simply breathtaking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank foodiemomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Decent hike worth doing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We didn't do the full circuit of this trail but nevertheless we did see a lot of it and walked halfway across the crater floor. There are plenty of people hiking this trail however there are plenty of places to get by if you are like us in which we walk fast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Hike in a Volcanic Crater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a lovely little hike which takes you through some picturesque trees and shrubs down to the volcanic crater.
The walk across the crater is pleasant, and you get a feel of the stored potential beneath your feet with various parts of the landscape giving out steam around you.

A very good experience

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ironmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Happy to see An Eruption from a distance.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a place we were happy to see a volcano erupting. Our guide, Arthur of Volcano Discovery was knowledgeable with planning our route for the hike. I would have loved to hike a longer distance but my wife couldn't so thanks to Arthur for creating that balance. He also recommended some things we could do on our own the next day. An example is getting up at 4:00 am to go to the Jaggar Museum to see a beautiful view of the erupting volcano of Kilauae. The crators around these area are wonderful to see. For those who will like to hiking to see crators with wonderful history this is a good place to do that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GBEFALOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Iki Trail also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Iki Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing