We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose "Right" Trail Entrance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilauea Iki Trail

Kilauea Iki Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moderate 4 mile hike into a an old volcanic crater.
McDonough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Choose "Right" Trail Entrance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are able to do this moderate (mostly mild) hike, this trail is a "must see and do" when visiting the Big Island. Incredible to start and end your journey on a rain forest trail with a mostly barren, rocky lava lake in between! We were advised to begin our hike at the entrance on the "RIGHT SIDE" of the first parking lot - hiking counter clockwise on the map. This created an easy hike (few steep downhill spots) until you hiked out of the crater at the end of the trail - much steeper, but "doable". Don't forget your water and snacks!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestodance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    163
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We did the complete circle in 2+ hours. Stopped for photos the whole way around. It started raining on us, so we were up the trail on the end of the hike in a hurry. Super hot steam vents in the crater floor. Hard to believe...be careful if you feel the steam! They can hit an extra puff of steam out and burn you in a hurry. A definite on a trip to VNP.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trob548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Level Contributor
162 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“My Mother's Day hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

What did you do for Mother's Day? I hiked a lava lake. It was awesome! This is moderate hike, about 4 miles long. Kilauea Iki (Little Kilauea) is a small caldera located next to the much larger and still active Kilauea. It last erupted in 1959. It has hills of lava, bubbles of lava, steam vents and pretty much looks like you are walking on the surface of the moon, yet you will see ferns and flowering plants along the way that add a fragile beauty. If you are in Volcano it is well worth the 1 1/2 to 2 hours it takes to hike it.
Tips:
1. Start early. It gets very warm as the heat of the afternoon reflects off the black lava.
2. Take at least a liter of water per person, more if you get a late start.
3. Wear closed toe shoes or hiking sandals. Lava can be sharp.
4. Wear a hat and sunscreen.
5. Take a snack or lunch. We ate on a hill at the eruption site.
6. If you want a gradual descent and stairs coming back out turn clockwise at the top. Reverse it and you take the stars down.
7. Take your time and enjoy. Look around and up when you are at the bottom. You are hiking a LAVA LAKE! Amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank krlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short Hike, but great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we visited Vocano area, the weather was not that good... Rainy and foggy... But, this Kilauea Iki Trail was amazing. From the top, we could not see the whole crater, but when we got down there, we could see an amazing view. We were in the middle of a holy place. On the floor, the steam is still coming out. The floor is not just a bottom floor with some cracks. It seems a pile of small plates. My son was pleased when he found many "crevasse". Highly recommend this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelcl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Pretty Easy Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband hiked this trail early morning (7 am) we had the trail all to ourselves. It was a little foggy but perfect temperature. We purchased the booked that tells you info. about the trail, you can get this for couple of dollars from the start of the trail. We thoroughly enjoyed the hike, we feasted on some berries along the way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Iki Trail also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Iki Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing