We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Hike, but great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilauea Iki Trail

Kilauea Iki Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moderate 4 mile hike into a an old volcanic crater.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short Hike, but great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we visited Vocano area, the weather was not that good... Rainy and foggy... But, this Kilauea Iki Trail was amazing. From the top, we could not see the whole crater, but when we got down there, we could see an amazing view. We were in the middle of a holy place. On the floor, the steam is still coming out. The floor is not just a bottom floor with some cracks. It seems a pile of small plates. My son was pleased when he found many "crevasse". Highly recommend this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelcl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    163
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Pretty Easy Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband hiked this trail early morning (7 am) we had the trail all to ourselves. It was a little foggy but perfect temperature. We purchased the booked that tells you info. about the trail, you can get this for couple of dollars from the start of the trail. We thoroughly enjoyed the hike, we feasted on some berries along the way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A reason for visiting the big island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

One of my main rasons for making a trip to the big island was to experience the Klauea Iki Trail. The trail is an impressive hike. The hike is about 1.5-2 hours and is an easy walk on a descending trail.
There are numerous places where you can enter. I highly suggest you do this trail if you make a trip to Volcano.
From what I grasp, the trail leads down to the ground of the crater and runs all the way across the countryside that graces the crater. It is a really bizarre hiking experience and worth ever moment of the walk.
I suggest that you always give yourself time during the hike to enjoy the gorgeous views and the volcanic landscape that created the Hawaiian islands over the years.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenTeaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“There's snow on that volcano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were here in march 2013 ...came in from Lake Tahoe area...and we had rain and the treat of seeing rim of volcano covered with snow. Hiked the whole crater and really loved the experience ...be prepared for changing weather and please bring water to drink...good tennis shoes will do the hike just fine...go to visitors center to watch film of the eruption very amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahoenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A must see if you are on the Big Island. Walk with the volcanos. The volcano chat with the volunteer at the Jagger museum is worth the wait. Very informative. Although the trails and museum are open late , the visitor center closes promptly at 5 and they stop showing the video at 4. Our government at its best.

Remember, when visiting Hawaii, book everything ahead of time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Iki Trail also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Iki Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing