We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Hardy Hikers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilauea Iki Trail

Kilauea Iki Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moderate 4 mile hike into a an old volcanic crater.
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Only Hardy Hikers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Long tail and then a 'good' walk across the lake and back UP another trail. But worth the trip. Take water!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ach27205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    158
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadley, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We liked our guide on the hike. She stopped often to let us catch up and point out the different points of interest and was very knowledgeable about the history of the volcano and the plants.

The hike down was pretty easy on the well maintained trail. Walking along the volcano floor was pretty rugged, as you would expect, but also pretty cool to be walking on actual lava that not too long ago (geologically) was over 2,000 degrees. The hike up was alot more strenuous and when we did it, it was raining, so it was not very comfortable. Overall, it was well worth the time and effort to hike the 4 miles.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

The wife and I had no idea when we went to the park that we would hike down a crater and walk across a volcano. Took about 3 hours because we took pictures or everything!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Toopzeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was an amazing experience to hike down into this lava flow. You actually can get up close to a steam vent. This is a long down hill climb so it is good to be prepared with appropriate footwear.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
281 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Harder Than I Thought”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the hike and the overviews. Wasn't quite prepared for the hike out--400' to the top using pretty steep switchbacks. Guides were quite knowledgeable and caring.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Iki Trail also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Iki Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing