We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!”
Review of Kilauea Iki Trail

Kilauea Iki Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
More Info
$217.71*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Kona
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Triple Crater Hawaii Volcano Hiking Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moderate 4 mile hike into a an old volcanic crater.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Terrific, varied terrain, from the lovely shaded rain forest to the fascinating topography of the caldera. We ran into some rain towards the very end of our hike, but this was a pretty great way to see a part of Volcano. We wished we would have been able to see a real lava flow during our visit but that would have required more time than we had.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudyG-SilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    174
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orange county, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Have to do it!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

So different, the topography is different from any place we visited! If youare on the Big Island you have to go to this park -- there are so many different trails, all really beautiful. You have to time it to get to the observation tower by dusk, that is when you can see the red glow of the active volcano! Definitely a "bucket list" trip!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank taragrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to Hawaii,HI looking for a 'new' place to go in Hawaii. Wanted a relaxing but active vacation. Today was day 1 and we went to the volcano... Most of the hikes were closed due to sulphur dioxide... But this hike was open. It's incredible, highly recommend it. It can be as strenuous or not as you want to make it. The scenery is gorgeous, with vents of steam going off in the crater as you walk across the bottom. I TOTALLY agree with one of the earlier postings... Go on the 4 mile hike COUNTER clockwise and the Lava Tube at the end. You'll have far less walking traffic if you go against the flow.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank cre8dnrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was a great way to see the volcano up close and personal. The distance was enough that it didn't feel too short; but not so far that it is a major effort. The terrain is rough and you will want to look around so take your time. If you had little kids it might be too far! You can buy the guide at the visitor center, or download the PDF for free.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank steve-h132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent 2 days exploring Volcanos this past July while on our honeymoon in Hawaii. One day was spent at the Kiluea Crater. Drive as much of the Crater Rim Road as you can. It was partially closed off to us due to high levels of volcanic vapors in the air. Hike through the sulphur fields to really see solid sulphur. If you have a chance to come back at night, do it. Drive up to the visitors center and watch the glow from the crater. The second day we drove the Chain of Craters Road. This road basically takes you from the crater rim down to the ocean. There are lots of scenic view points along the way. Hike the trail out to the petroglyphs. Also check out where the old Chain of Craters Road used to be before the volcano claimed it! When you get down to the ocean, check out the sea arch and if it's early enough in the day you can hike out to the active lava flow. At the time of our visit, it would have been a 12 mile, round trip hike and we just did not have the time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Iki Trail also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Iki Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing