We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rained out, but ...

It was pouring rain when we reached the summit, and when we got to the bike staging area, the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
MaarTech
,
Toronto
Bike Maui - Bill made the trip!

You can book with other bike companies, but you won’t get Bill! He was extremely informative on the... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
TheKJ13
via mobile
Read all 2,251 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Haleakala National Park
from $120.00
More Info
from $260.37
More Info
from $248.96
More Info
Reviews (2,251)
Filter reviews
2,251 results
Traveler rating
1,780
292
75
49
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,780
292
75
49
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own pace self guided rain gear sunrise tour express tour disc brakes other companies our tour guide great ride summit deluxe deluxe tour downhill ride great company easy ride lavender farm kula lodge down hill
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 2,251 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We had the honor of having Kimo as our bike tour instructor. He is a local, and is a very vibrant, excited, knowledgeable guy--- which all makes for an awesome tour full of history/tips/etc. about Maui. He made sure our group was comfortable with the ride and route, and gave us a VIP feeling the whole time. We absolutely recommend this tour for your bike ride and look forward to going back.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic tour with nice knowledgeable guide to top. Views were amazing. Equipment was all in good shape. Would definitely do again.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Awesome tour guides and well organized! Did the self guided tour and well worth it for anyone who knows how to ride a bike. Great bikes provided, excellent safety helmets and awesome suggestions of where to stop along the way down from Haleakala! And not to mention hard to top this sunrise- absolutely gorgeous above the clouds, but I recommend bringing blankets/jackets/hats, its freezing in the morning! Highly recommend and would do again with anyone who visits Maui!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jenna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

The Kona bikes used for the rental are amazing! The driver was so informative you’d think he did his PhD thesis on the History of Maui and Haleakala.

If you do the guided tour (follow the leader) any novice rider can complete the ride. If you’re looking for more adventure (and speed) do the self guided tour. I suggest ditching the map. Get lost. Use up all your phone battery on pictures. Ask the locals how to return the bike you’re riding and get to your car back at the shop. I’ll never forget that ride!

Also, if you’re lucky enough to take the self-guided tour on the same day Pistol Pete is leading the guided tour—listen up...

Ride ahead of the guided group about 10 minutes. Pull over and wait for the guided tour to pass. You can’t miss Pistol Pete riding side saddle on the bike, flying down the mountain, carving pavement like it was Jaws from Honolua. I’m sure Pete would ride the darn bike like a skateboard if they let. Choke up the bucks for an unforgettable experience.

Ok last selling point..when you park your bikes in Kula for some coffee about 30mins into the ride...take a long look at the faces of the people riding the worn-out bikes that chose the cheaper tours when they’re drooling over your Kona bike.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We signed up for the bike ride and then decided to just do the van tour. We were very happy with the sunrise tour, it was absolutely beautiful, but very cold. The van tour with our guides, Corey and Derek, was really fun and very informative. We would recommend this tour.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank LINDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews