We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views par excellence, encyclopedic van driver, very early rise, bring a jacket...really”

Haleakala Bike Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike down Haleakala, Maui's largest Volcano. Enjoy a tour of Haleakala National Park and a trip up to the summit at 10,000feet above sea level. Admire views of the Crater, and bicoastal views of Maui. Experience a 23 mile bike ride downhill at your own pace. No guided convoy to rush you down, no big group to hold you back. You are free to come down at your own comfortable rate.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Views par excellence, encyclopedic van driver, very early rise, bring a jacket...really”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We picked this company because of other reviews...& did the self-guided tour. I am glad we did on both accounts. The van driver was very knowledgeable about Hawaii, the island, and the national park. Do the self-guided tour as going at your own pace is much preferable to having to either stay caught up with a guided excursion, or be kept back by the same. Also, you'll be riding down the mountain through towns you are most likely going to want to stop in at your own schedule. The chalet-looking restaurant 1/3 of the way down is a great place to stop for breakfast. We stayed in KIhe and it took us ~45 minutes to get to the bike shop... this means we had to leave our B&B at 1:30 a.m. Do not underestimate how early you'll have to depart. That said, the sunrise views from the top of Haleakala are still fresh in my mind, months after this trip is over. Get a comfort seat/beach bike seat if possible....your derriere is going to be sore by the end of the ride.....no matter who you are. Brink a jacket...you really will be glad you did at the top of the mountain...some people had gloves...I sill kind of envy them. People in average shape or better can do this..there's only ~3 places where you'll have to pedal or get off & walk the bike. Not appropriate for young children or even early teens, probably driving age or older.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,227
    244
    66
    46
    45
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Life is good on a bike!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a great time! Staff made it all come together....very informative. Would recommend this trip to all our friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Scenic Coast”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

When planning our trip to Maui, my wife and I were excited to book the sunrise trip to Haleakala Crater followed by the bike ride back down the mountain. Unfortunately, federal government shut down eliminated the first part of the trip--the top of the mountain is a national park--which left just the bike ride. While disappointed, this trip was still well worth it. We fournd HBC to be a very professional outfit to deal with and all of the equipment we used was in excellent condition. The guide, Kimo, who drove our group up the mountain to the staging area was quite engaging and very informative about the landmarks and sights we would see on the way down. He was also very insistent on conveying bike safety rules, which was much appreciated. After that, we were left on our own to make it back down the mountain--with maps and emergency phone numbers--over about a five hour period, which was plenty of time. This was a great, easy ride with interesting sights and beautiful views. Also, judging from the experience that riders from other tour companies seemed to be having, I'd say that HBC is definitely the one to pick.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank br0wner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great DIY Tour”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just rented the bikes directly from the bike company and it was much less expensive than doing the tour. They gave great instructions and ensured we were comfortable with our bikes. They loaded them onto our rental cars. We did this trip before our 6 O'clock flight. We were on the mountain by noon and still made it down in time to eat before heading to the airport.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coogz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great experience with the Haleakala Bike Company! Initially, we were really bummed out because we happened to be visiting during the government shut down and could not do the sunrise summit tour, but were only able to do the bike portion. However, the guides - especially Kimo - totally made up for it. He was funny and knowledgeable and made sure we both had a great time and also were amply informed to ensure we had a safe trip. Overall, it was great - a must-do Maui activity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Bike Company also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala Bike Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing