We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunrise Special Tour - Worth it for your first time”

Haleakala Bike Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike down Haleakala, Maui's largest Volcano. Enjoy a tour of Haleakala National Park and a trip up to the summit at 10,000feet above sea level. Admire views of the Crater, and bicoastal views of Maui. Experience a 23 mile bike ride downhill at your own pace. No guided convoy to rush you down, no big group to hold you back. You are free to come down at your own comfortable rate.
firstreviewqwert
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sunrise Special Tour - Worth it for your first time”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was our first time to Haleakala and we enjoyed the sunrise, even though it was freezing cold and windy. I have never seen so many stars before. Make sure you get a good spot against the rail and hold onto it. Our tour guide was Bill and he was very informative. You can tell he's been doing this for a long time. I noticed that someone said he was grumpy, and he does come off that way a little, but I still really liked him. He has a different sense of humor. The best part of this trip was our bike ride down the crater. We loved going at our own pace and stopped several times along the way to eat and buy some souvenirs. We got lucky with crystal clear skies the whole way down. Haleakala Bike Company provides you with wind pants and wind breaker and gloves to help with the cold weather, but you should bring additional layers. The items they provided were quite stinky even though they disinfect them. We all had mold in the wind pants they gave us - ew. I would use this company again, but only to do the bike ride. The sunrise was beautiful, but it's not worth getting up so early for it if you have already seen it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank firstreviewqwert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    233
    64
    45
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Express tour was perfect for us”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a self guided tour and some of the reviews I read made it sound like it was difficult to follow the map. Actually I never had to look at the map. Just listen to your guide on the way up!
Kimo kept repeating the names of the last 3 streets and that all you had to remember was 6 turns - right, right, right at the first 3 forks, then left, right, left at the next 3 stop signs. He also made a few jokes about the cemetery and the horse that he tried to ride when he gets drunk. But when you pass those landmarks on the way down, you'll remember them and know you are on the right road.

We have seen the sunrise at Haleakala and hiked through the park, so we were just looking for the bike riding experience. We got more than that with Kimo. Thanks for the pictures and pointing out how the guard rails extend into the bike lanes and to look back for cars when you are forced out of the bike lane.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 575garyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome time”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great ride down the mountain/volcano. Would've preferred more picture stops on the way down.
Staff was very professeional and informative.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmoeller_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just do it!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our group of 9 did the Express Tour. Kimo, our guide was funny and informative. Self- guided was nice - unfortunately I was with my 12 year old who thought it was a race! Overall, highly recommend this experience! If the weather is good, I recommend the sunrise tour - so worth getting up at 2am! (We did this tour 9 years ago).

Helpful?
1 Thank SSiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very unique and special!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's worth getting up in the middle of the night for this experience! The ride up to the summit was spent learning the route to ride down; our guide, Corey, was detailed and made it fairly easy to remember. ("Speed Bump Lane" was a great market along the route.) Watching the sunset was a great event, and impossible to explain - you just have to be there. The bike ride itself was fun; as avid bike riders, we found the one-speed bikes to be a bit frustrating, but it makes sense that they have to cater to everyone. The map was a bit sketchy and we had a few minutes of confusion, but remembering Corey's tips got us through. We enjoyed the ride and the overall experience. I am so glad we did this - it's not the usual Hawai'i tourist activity, but it was very memorable. Thanks, Corey, for a great time!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Bike Company also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala Bike Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing