We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Pipiwai Trail
from $9.99
More Info
from $11.99
More Info
from $218.75
More Info
from $192.71
More Info
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveler rating
992
180
25
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
992
180
25
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo forest great hike banyan tree road to hana flip flops foot waterfall makahiku falls beautiful waterfall bug spray moderate hike miles round trip falling rocks hiking shoes mile hike bring water walking stick easy hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not a long hike - 4 miles (6 km) and the reward is the most beautiful 400 foot waterfall. The hike has an elevation of 650 feet and it is not too difficult. There are two sections, a short hike to a small waterfall and then a hike through a bamboo forest to the main waterfall. The path is good but can be muddy in many sections and must be careful of tree roots and rocks. For experienced hikers about 2.5 hours return and up to 4 hours for the inexperienced. Beware of the time as it does get very dark once the sun sets and makes the hike out very difficult. At the end the trail stops at a rocky creek which is very difficult to cross and get to the bottom of the waterfall. Care is needed. The bamboo forest along the way is amazing with a nice walkway. Highly recommended as a waterfall of 400 feet is something to behold.

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank gbmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After being in a car all day long on that windy road to Hana, we were so excited to get out and stretch our legs. This trail was absolutely beautiful and easy to do. Most of it was easy climbing. The bamboo forests were beautiful to walk through and the waterfall at the end was breathtaking. You definitely need to make this a must do stop on your trip to Hawaii.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Pipiwai trail leads into the Bamboo Forest which is beautiful. There are some areas on the boardwalk that need fixing but great overall. Bring bug spray! Footwear:if you're wearing sandles, make sure they are good for walking. Make sure you keep walking until you get to the waterfall...not until you can just see the waterfall.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Alka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hike through this trail is really cool. However I wouldn't recommend going through here if it has been railing a lot. The trail could get really slippery for younger/older hikers. Proper footwear would be highly recommended, but you could probably get through it without proper shoes on a dry day. There were supposedly three waterfalls on the trail. We only had time to make it to two of them. The second was really nice. Wear bug repellent if you can remember to bring it! It was really nice!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Beowshawitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

I did this the first full day on island. For teh Hike itself, to the official end, where you see the 400' falls, it is supposedly 2 miles up to an elevation of 600'. THEN you are on ground level lookingat teh base of teh falls whose origin is still 400' higher ona sheer rock wall. It is beyond impressive. Along the trail, early on there is another impressive falls, a banyan tree, 2 bridge walkways over a gorge with small falls into pools and running srteams and teh bamboo forest which is mostly a level walk on boards. Just after teh Bamboo Forest and you think the path no longer resembles any kind of prepared trail, the falls are right there around the corner. I actually found my phone took better, greener pics of the bamboo than my fancy camera.
Details: i was staying in Kihei and suggest leaving no later than 6:30am, maybe even 6am, and taking the shorter, less traveled, but more rugged drive around the south side of Haleakela. There are beautiful views both directions and very little traffic so so I had my camera handy and "on" so I could frequently slow down or stop and just aim the camera and click pictures without using the view finder. I was alone. It is very important, like the traditional route to Hana, to have the driver be very mondful of the road, on coming traffic, cows goats, and lava rocks in the road. My strong suggestions would be to have a small SUV or jeep.I had a compact with low clearance and it scared the crap out of me when I thought i could clear a smallish lava rock and made a huge BANG of my indercarriage...Lava rocks are very unforgiving with edges like razorblades. ALWAYS avoid them and assume you won't clear them. There may be cattle in the middle or sides of the road, they don't seem to be fenced in and that seems to be acceptable. The young ones tend todecide to cross the road the closer you get to them. and there are goats too. i read all about teh stretches of 'unfinished' roads so when i did two miles of manty small patch filled road i thought that wasn't so bad! small reprieve of paving and then it gets scary. i was at about 9-10 mph. lots of pot holes, unpaved roads mostly, very narrow, guard rails eaten away by salt and previous accidents or no guard rails at all. Drive slowly, be prepred tp pull over if room or back to a spot you can pass. Those going downhill have right away....but there really isnt any traffic. Blow your hown as you approach and round blind corners...
Wear comfortable light clothes and GOOD shoes! Hiking shoes or runnng sneakers with tread. Dresses, dark long sleeves, layers are not a good idea. really no bugs, but I saw people in dress sandals and flip flops, dresses, lots of long dark layers on my way down and with all the slippery trail and slippery rocks and humidity...i doubt they made it to the first falls, which is close. Im going again in January and will play tour guide to my husband and two friends on this trail!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank canter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews