We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Maui "Loop" Road To Hana Audio Driving Tour
29

Book in advance
from
$19.98
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Pipiwai Trail
from $19.99
More Info
from $19.99
More Info
from $19.99
More Info
from $276.67
More Info
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveler rating
1,080
194
31
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,080
194
31
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo forest great hike banyan tree road to hana foot waterfall beautiful waterfall mosquito repellent moderate hike miles round trip hiking shoes mile hike easy hike slippery rocks elevation gain sacred pools bring lots of water worth the effort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2017

The reward for completing this hike is well worth it, and that doesn't take into consideration what you see on the way. So many attractions on the Hana Highway are quick stops but this isn't one of them so plan ahead accordingly because this is one hike on the highway everyone should do.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank NUFCadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful trail and so glad I went. I would have enjoyed camping out here. The waterfalls, the bamboo and the ocean are such spectacular sites. Worth driving Hana.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank TravelSomeMFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We spent the night in Hana so that we could get to the Pipiwai Trail early when the park opened and have a quiet hike to beautiful falls at the end of the trail. It was a great hike and one of our favorite activities on Maui. The banyan tree along the trail was huge and fun to investigate, and there were several pretty small waterfalls along the path as well, but our favorite part was the bamboo forest. We could not believe how dense and mysterious it was, and when the wind came up, we could hearing the large bamboo stalks knocking against each other. At a couple of places, the bamboo was so thick and tall it blocked most of the sunlight and the trail got very dark. Really a unique experience!

I would rate the trail moderate with a few uphill sections; there were lots of kids on the trail, and as long as you are wearing good shoes (sneakers are fine) and bring plenty of water with you, you'll have a lovely 3 hours round trip hike. On our trip, we were not bothered by bugs at all, but you might want to take bug spray with you just in case. Definitely worth it! Highly recommended!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank QBzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Be prepared with good bug spray and lots of water. It can be very humid in the forest. Loved the transition from large fruit trees to the bamboo forest.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

We started our hike by walking down the loop trail and then up to the 1st and second falls.

The seven sacred "Pools of Ohe'o" are closed for swimming due to an overabundance of caution as the Parks Service has noted. There is a very dangerous rock slide condition since earlier in the year, but you can still hike to the overlook.

After the pools we hiked to the 1st of two waterfalls. The overlook is about a mile up and it is a strenuous mile if you are out of shape. We actually turned back here because we were beat (carrying too much - out of shape) but the people coming down said we had passed the worst of it. Glad we asked, because really it is much less tiring after the first falls, and the bamboo forest was worth every extra step of the second mile.

The trails that go down to the pools below the falls are closed as well, with a $100 fine for violating the closure. Or death. $100 or death, one of the two.

Anyway, we decided not to go into the waters, but the views were great nonetheless.

Highly recommended even with the trail closures.

It took us about 4.5 hours to go up and down and we were famished. Beware that if you are heading back into Hana after visiting the park that all of the food service ends around 5-6. You might want to get an early start in the park if you expect to take it easy on the trail. Fit/Fast hikers can do it in about 2 hours. We finally found a little thai truck on the north end of Hana that had food into the later evening hours.

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank kimncris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews