We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Haleakala National Park
Save
  
Ways to Experience Haleakala Crater
from $183.95
More Info
from $215.39
More Info
from $196.15
More Info
Reviews (7,894)
Filter reviews
7,894 results
Traveler rating
6,349
1,190
244
56
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,349
1,190
244
56
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunrise or sunset the big island sea level the sun rise warm clothes bring a jacket dress warm visitor center parking spot cloud cover winding road sliding sands trail bike ride credit card viewing area parking lot once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 7,894 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for the sunset rather than the sunrise. Unfortunately, bad weather interfered with our views of the sunset. Incredible views of themountain and the crater, incredible stories. The drive is not for the faint of heart.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Tami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Many go here for the sunrise however mid day is warmer and also very appealing. We always enjoy our kid day trips to the top of the mountain

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank C2913CZrandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Be prepared for a long winding road on the way to the top. We had to visit twice on our trip, because the first time it was misting and the wind was blowing about 30 mph. That makes for an unpleasant visit when the temperature is 43 F. At least on the second trip, it was clear and 45 F. Like the guidebooks tell you, wear long pants and a jacket, because it is chilly. It was fun to watch people dressed in tank tops and shorts. We hoped to see nene at the visitor's center, but saw none either trip. However, the silversword nursery was a highlight.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were really disappointed in the experience at the Haleakala Crater, but please understand - it was solely due to the weather. It was very foggy and you could not see ANYTHING at the top. It’s a long (and very winding!!!) drive to get there to not be able to see anything. If it’s clear out I’m sure this would be an amazing view, but use your own discretion based on the sky’s conditions. It is also COLD up there! It was 78 degrees on the island that day and only 51 at the top of the crater - make sure you bring appropriate clothing if you plan on hiking or exploring at the top.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank misern44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Well it needs to be done at least once. My first time was 21 years ago and I went with an organised tour. This time we took the kids and I decided to drive myself. Got up there about 4:30am. I knew it was cold but was not prepared for the extreme conditions this time. I was rugged up but the temperature must have been well below freezing and the winds were blowing like a hurricane.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank TokyoRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews