We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Impressive Sunset !!”
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Maui: Haleakala - Ioa Valley - Lahaina Tour
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Maui Haleakala Day Bike Tour
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What an Impressive Sunset !!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was well worth the 1 1/2 hour drive to the top of the crater to see the sun set into the sea. Because of the altitude of 10,000 feet, the cloud cover was unpredictable. the clouds came....and the clouds dissipated....allowing for a spectacular view of the crater and the sunset. Take a jacket.....it gets cold!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,845
    937
    181
    48
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Different and outstanding!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is an out of this world experience. We went up in the late afternoon so we could see sundown. It was extremely cold so had to use towels to stay warm but it was worth it. On the way we saw 3 sets of pheasants within a couple of miles, saw a brilliant all red small bird and some larger birds that looked like a large quail. On the top it was like being on a different planet, some fog but it would clear and then drift over again. My teenage granddaughters were amazed and could not stop taking pictures. We were able to see the crater floor and were above the clouds so we got to see the sunlight blanket the clouds with an amazing array of colors ..pinks, corals, blues, yellows. It was outstanding and definitely worth the drive. Watch out for cattle on the drive up and dress warmly or take a cover up. There are nice bathroom facilities at the top.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OCTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is was one of those once in a lifetime things that we had to do in order to catch the sunrise. We had to get up super early, but it was well worth it. Watching the sunrise at the park over the clouds was great. The bio diversity travel up the crater is like nowhere else, and once you're at the top the views are impeccable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mopena14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went during the day. Still worth the trip even if not going for sunrise. The road while nice can be a little nearve racking with no guardrails but not to bad. Even in the middle of the day the temp was only 57 degrees but the worse part is the fighting wind. If you plan on hiking bring a pair of pants and a heavy cost, not just a light jacket. Views are marvelous and well worth the trip. No place to buy food so I'd suggest bringing lunch with you. Call the national weather service hotline at 866-944-5025 to see what the forecast for the next day is.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great drive”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I really enjoyed the drive up. Others might now, but I enjoy roads like this. It was also cool to see the drastic temperature changes from the bottom, to the top. To be honest, the crater was cool to look at for a few minutes, but didn't stay that long. Checked out the view. Took the small hike up to get to the highest point possible, then left.

Also, PLEASE, if you are a slow driver, pull over in the designated pull outs. You start huge line ups while you're going 10 MPH up the road.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing