We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilliest Sunset on Maui”
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Maui: Haleakala - Ioa Valley - Lahaina Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
Wildwood, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chilliest Sunset on Maui”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The dormant volcano crater has a wonderful array of colors. It is a great place for sightseeing & hiking. Other than the Kaanapali, it is our favorite place for sunsets. Dress warm because temps dip into the 40s & it is breezy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LG_Maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,754
    923
    180
    48
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Drive and View”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Literally. We brought warmer clothes to prepare for the temperature change, but forgot that the altitude change also can bring a little shortness of breath. No worries. We still were able to hike around and take in the wonderful views from the top of the crater. The first time we went up there was with one of the 'bike down the volcano' companies, so we had little time to explore. This time we went up on our own and were very pleasantly surprised at all you are able to see and do at the top.

If driving at heights bother you, you may want to find someone else to drive. Some of those switch backs were pretty tight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ndogtosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Spiritual”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Getting up super early was easier if you do this when you are still suffering jet lag. When the sun first begins to rise the locals begin a chant and drum ceremony. Be prepared - temps can get in the 20"s F. You can view from 2 levels 9700 ft or go to the summit at 10,000 ft, you need to leave by 4am if you are in the hotel district on the West side of the island to get a parking spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally unique”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited in August and drove up to the summit during the late afternoon (with a couple of teens, there was great resistance to going for the sunrise). We planned to stay for the sunset, but ended up starting our drive down as the sun was setting. It was way colder than my kids had packed for (I tried to warn them!) and once we'd driven up, none of us was comfortable with the idea of driving down in the dark. It's no road to Hana, but still with a good number of curves and drop offs. Plus a lot of people arrived just for the sunset, and we found it much more relaxing to drive down with no cars behind us--made it much easier to go at a pace we were comfortable with. That said, the scenery up there is completely amazing and shouldn't be missed, whether you hit a sunrise/sunset or not. I took a TON of photos; everywhere I looked was a view unlike anything I'd ever seen! Well worth the trip even in the middle of the day. Just dress really warm if you plan to do any amount of walking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BornBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have added the sunrise at the crater to my "must do" list while on Maui several reasons. The uniqueness of the experience made it worth the effort. I have spent many mornings on cold and windy mountaintops deer hunting in Pennsylvania but never above the surrounding cloud cover and never among hundreds of people whose sole reason for being there was to watch old Sol peek above the horizon. We luckily had a clear sky so the colors were amazing. Almost as amazing was the ride back down with views that cannot be captured on film with any justice compared to the three dimensional effect seen by the naked eye. Stopped for breakfast at Kula Lodge down at the base of the volcano and had a pleasant breakfast to start our day of exploration. Dress warm for the sunrise and get there by 5:00 am (Sept. time) to enjoy the entire experience. You won't regret it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank steelpens09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing