We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the two mile hike!”
Review of Ohe'o Gulch

Ohe'o Gulch
Book In Advance
More Info
$457.99*
and up
Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Well worth the two mile hike!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We were the last two of the day to do the two mile hike and it really was a race to get it done before the sun went down. It was well worth it. The sight you are greeted with at the end is superb. Even had time for a dip in the stream. Would love to do it again at a slower pace. Def check it out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jace_disgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    165
    65
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tallahassee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ohe'o Guich Magic Sacred 7 Pools”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Is one of the most beautiful and enchanted places in Maui Hi,Just Taking the Hana Road worth the trip .Get to the Seven Pools,Priceless,You can swim and Walk around the Park,The view of Haleakala volcano is amazing.you see clouds covering the slopes of the volcano and still the summit is not covered by Clouds.been close to the Ocean is great as well
If you take this trip Drive earlier in the morning that way you will have to come back from Hana to Kahului before dark

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pijuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Swimming was closed”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Driving the Hana Highway you can't miss the Haleakala National Park. The access point has the Ohe'o Gulch and the Pipiwai Trail. The Ohe'o Gulch is also called Seven Sacred Pools even though there are around 25 pools. There is an entrance fee of $10 per vehicle and it is good for three days, so hold onto your pass for Haleakala Crater. The hike to Ohe'o Gulch is very easy. It is less than a 1 mile loop with no hills or really rough terrain. Unfortunately when we went in April 2014 the pools were closed. This meant we couldn't go down to them and swim. The view is limited from the top, but it is still a beautiful area. If you are not planning on doing the 4 mile loop Pipiwai hike up to a massive waterfall and bamboo forest then I suggest you skip entering the park and view the Ohe'o Gulch from the bridge before you get to the park. The view from the road outside the park is better than the view from the ocean side.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It was an ok short hike.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We took the pain to drive past Hana all the way to the east entrance to Haleakala National Park. The main 2 things to do this side of the national park are Oheo gulch ( Seven sacred Pools) trail and Pipiwai trail. We did the short 0.7 mile loop Oheo Gulch trail where you will see the seven pools midway on the trail.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CalGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for hiking”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Visited in early May with my wife. We are very active and enjoyed the hike up the trail. Please, please, please go all the way to the top to see the waterfall (2 mi. hike). It is well worth the effort. There is a massive tree along the way, a bamboo forest, and many scenic vistas overlooking the gulch. I would say about 75% of the trail is shaded. Many of the pools were closed for swimming but we were able to find an open one for a dip. Bring along water and a camera. Cost is $10.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank joshb416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohe'o Gulch also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ohe'o Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing