We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seven sacred pools” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohe'o Gulch

Ohe'o Gulch
Book In Advance
More Info
$457.99*
and up
Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“seven sacred pools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

one of the last stops 'doing' the road to Hana. maybe we were tried but it wasn't the AW I was expecting.
we had lots of rain so apparently the pools were all murky cause of that.
overall, definitely worth the stop but there are so many amazing things to see on this drive I wouldn't say this was the top.
10$ park fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    162
    62
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Long way to get here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

There is a long drive on the Road to Hana to finally get to the Ohe'o Gulch. There was not much water flowing so the falls we're not much to look at. The short hike was interesting and good after the long ride in the car. Did not have time to hike the Pipiwai trail from this location. Next time. We took the south route back to Makena and that road was not bad with no traffic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
798 reviews
299 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Great Last Stop on Road to Hana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

While driving on the Road to Hana, this is a fantastic last stop. After a very short, easy hike, you make it to the Seven Pools. It was incredibly windy when we were there, but was still a really beautiful site. There are several pools to swim and jump in with a small waterfall at the top. It was quite crowded when we went. I highly recommend this as your last stop on your journey!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jvalliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“don't miss it - a piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

It was one of our favorite spots in Maui. The view was breathtaking and fun to swim in. You can dip your feet in one of the shallow pools or dive into the big pool (at your own risk). The water was refreshingly cool. When we first arrived in the early morning, it was closed due to the high tide but luckily we came back after our Pipiwai hike. What a great way to relax after a long hike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sharld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have been twice. Once the falls weren't even running it was so dry and this time there was so much water there was no swimming or even going down into the gulch to climb around. So, it all depends on Mother Nature as to what type of experience you'll have here. Either experience you have here is worth drive!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HumbleHomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohe'o Gulch also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ohe'o Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing