We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience.”

Roaring Fork Motor Nature Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a must do! My eight year old son and ten year old niece loved it. They took tons of pictures, climbed on rocks, splashed in the stream, and learned a little history. I did not hear a single "I am bored."

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Noelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    185
    36
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Views great, few deer and other animals”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We usually go on roaring fork, but its been years since we've see many animals one the trail, so if you are going for that, you might consider cades cove, but I have seen bears and deer here, and almost always wild turkey so its not out of the realm if you are on a time schedule. You cannot deny the peacefulness and beauty of this place though, and there are some great trails off here, we've seen them packing the llamas for the march to the top (where we've also been-cool place). Once on the loop we saw a family of four and as we passed I told my husband we need to stop and check on them, they looked almost comically wiped out sitting on a log side by side by side--turns out they had stopped in for a short hike before leaving to go home from vacation and became very lost! So, we piled them in our little car and set out to find their vehicle. While we were all smashed together, we found out that they lived just a few miles away from us back in indiana. LOL poor folks, gave a good chuckle though!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TreehouseTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pretty, narrow and steep”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a great one way drive into the upper parts of the Smokies. There are trails along the way that lead to falls or overlooks. You need to be a decent driver and not be afraid of heights. There are places that are narrow and have steep drop-offs. In some places, the views are wonderful and there are many places that the road follows the creek. We have seen bears up there as well as deer. For us, it's one of the nicest spots in Gatlinburg.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 19NH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this Great Trail”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm not much for staying in the car and driving through a place. So at first I wasn't much interested. But there were lots of opportunities to get out of the car and see natural beauty, as well as historical buildings from a bygone era. There was a Roaring Fork community here that began in the 1830's and 1840's. When the national park was established the inhabitants of the community were asked to leave, although many of the older folk were given the opportunity to stay until their death.

What makes this motor trail so special is that even the handicapped and infirm can enjoy this part of the park and get a feel for being in the outdoors and learning a bit of history as well. Be sure to pick up a pamphlet for a $1 fee. It will give you some of the written information that will help you appreciate the trail.

I first got out of the car to hike to Grotto Falls (that's stop 5 on the motor trail). The round trip hike is about three miles and is moderate in difficulty. I had a five and seven year old with me and they did fine. These falls are great and I will write about them in another review. On the return we took the Trillium Gap trail on toward the Rainbow Falls Trailhead. That trail was remarkable in that we saw all kinds of mushrooms, toad stools; and algae, lichen, moss and fungus on the trees. There were centipeds, spiders, worms and we even spotted a salamander. The kids loved it!

We also got out of the car to see some of the historical buildings, to wade in the Roaring Fork River and to take photos all along the route. We spent an entire day on this motor trail and hiked 5 or 6 miles total. Don't miss this opportunity, but bring water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bring your camera”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This was spectacular! It has great views and easy trails and homesteads that the whole family found interesting. We did not see any wildlife but we did get a lot of nature pictures and it had great backgrounds for pictures of the kids. If you turn a stoplight 6 it's not far off the parkway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roaring Fork Motor Nature Trail also viewed

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 

Been to Roaring Fork Motor Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing