We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Challenging & Rewarding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramsey Cascades

Ramsey Cascades
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Challenging & Rewarding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I hiked Ramsey Cascades. If you like privacy & a challenge this is for you! I'm 36 & he's 40 & we're both in great shape. It's 8 miles roundtrip & took us 5 1/2 hrs start to finish including staying at the waterfall for an hour. The first mile & a half was easy, only a few patches of rocks & roots. There are beautiful little details along the way, you just have to stop & look around. If you don't feel like you can go anymore once you reach the only sign on the trail (2.5 miles to go) maybe you should reconsider because you ain't seen nothing yet! The trail gets more narrow & strenuous the closer you get. A few spots are just a couple feet wide along a cliff so be very careful. There are a couple log bridges with rails & a couple streams to cross. The last 1/2 mile is where you gain the most elevation. I was climbing over boulders at one point. It's pretty slippery on some rocks so consider good trail shoes. Once you reach the waterfall it's all worth it. We were lucky because the waterfall was bigger than normal due to the previous days rain. Take your time & enjoy it because it's a long hike back. Bring a sandwich or snack to refuel & plenty of water.

Get an early start. There were people who were just starting around 1pm & struggling because they were out of shape. You could also get hurt & you don't want to be out there when it's getting dark. There isn't cell service once you make the first turn off the highway so do all your research before you get on the road. Btw if you're wondering if you have to drive across the narrow wooden bridge on the way to the trailhead, the answer is YES! Lol!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Babydoll1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    12
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“beautiful waterfall at the top makes it worth while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

my husband is a machine and he pushed me to go faster than I would recommend. take your time and view the sights. it is a stunning hike through some beautiful scenery. I highly recommend doing this. no little kids its to rough and no kids on backpacks. unless your a maniac!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank neatcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a great stay at th Gatlinburg falls resort! Chris checked us in and he was very helpful. Thanks again Chris looking forward to staying again soon!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tavelqueen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ramsey Cascades is as much about the journey as the destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to hike Ramsey Cascades. It was absolutely beautiful. Hiking Ramsey Cascades is like an evening at the symphony...you may be walking in tight areas then all of the sudden the trail opens up and the most beautiful vista appears with the might and crescendo of Beethoven or Mozart, then there are moments after you have climbed a staircase of grey rounded, boulders and you begin your journey on the trail to the groundcover of Iris foliage, covering the banks of the trail, showcasing its magnificent white flower lightly painted with hues of maize and lilac, dwarfed by the fuzzy new growth of the upright native ferns accompanied by the masculine emerald green algae growing over the fallen trees, with the light conversation of birds in the crisp cool air...I can only imagine Claude Debussy must have witnessed similar scenery for inspiration to create his Suite Bergamasque for Piano. during the course of my 39 years, I have never fully understood the meaning of the phrase "Life is not about the destination, it is about the journey"...Ramsey Cascades trail taught me this very important meaning and how to apply it to my own life.
This is not an easy hike for the general populous! It can get slick and wet. There two bridges to cross that are 18-24 inches wide with a handrail. Oh and by the way, the water fall is beautiful, but the journey up is spectacular!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Flfitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best falls during my visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ramsey cascades is absolutely the best waterfall during my visit (I also visited Laurel falls and Abram falls). The trail is also better (in terms of sceneries) compared to the other two. But bear in mind that the round way is 8 miles, and not so easy. Fallen trees can be found along the way. And you have to cross the creek twice without bridges, twice with a narrow bridge

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aurex_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramsey Cascades also viewed

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 

Been to Ramsey Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing